The Lid Test

The Best Winter Motorcycle Gloves

Cold hands end rides early and make the controls clumsy. Six waterproof, insulated gloves ranked on the certification each maker prints, how the membrane is built, and the insulation they actually publish — with an honest section on when a heated glove is the better answer.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

Hands are the first thing to quit in the cold. They sit out in the wind ahead of everything else, they barely move, and once they go numb the clutch, the brake and the throttle all get vague at exactly the moment you want them sharp. A winter glove has three jobs, and it has to do them without turning your fingers into sausages: keep water out, keep heat in, and still protect the hand the way a riding glove is supposed to.

That last job is the one winter-glove listings are quietest about, so it is where we started. Every glove here was ranked first on the EN 13594 certification its maker prints, because it is the only test that says anything about what the glove does in a slide. Second, on how the waterproof membrane is built— bonded to the shell, hung inside it as a loose liner, or a water-resistant layer that is not called waterproof at all — because that decides how the glove feels on the bars and how it behaves after an hour of rain. Third, on the insulation the maker actually publishes, in grams and by location, since “thermal” and “winter” are adjectives, not measurements. Only after those did we look at cuffs, wipers, touchscreen tips and sizing.

Two findings shaped the list. Four of the six gloves print a Level 1 KP certification to EN 13594; the two that do not — the heated Gerbing and the budget Cortech — rank at the bottom for that reason alone, and each card says so. And the most expensive certified glove here, the Klim, carries the least insulation of the four, by design: it is built for riders with heated grips, which is a different way of solving the same problem and gets its own section below.

We have not worn or crash-tested any of these gloves and we own none of them — here is exactly how we compare gear instead. Every spec below was read from the maker’s own product page on the date recorded with each product, with a US retailer listing used only to confirm a figure or check stock. Prices in the text stay qualitative; the live number sits on each buy button.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on our spec score — certification, weight, features and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these helmets; here is exactly how we compare them instead.

#HelmetBest forOur scorePrice
1
Klim Badlands GTX Long

Klim Badlands GTX Long

The most complete cold-weather build we could source: a CE Level 1 KP glove to EN 13594 with a GORE-TEX membrane bonded to the shell by GORE Grip, so the layers do not slip on the bars. Klim insulates only the back of the hand, with 60 g of 3M Thinsulate, and leaves the palm unlined for feel — which makes it the least insulated of the certified picks and a glove that relies on heated grips in real cold.

Best overall9.0
$269.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
REV'IT! Stratos 3 GTX

REV'IT! Stratos 3 GTX

The warmest glove on this page by the makers' own numbers. REV'IT! lists 3M Thinsulate G in 300 g and 80 g weights plus a high-loft fur liner, behind a GORE-TEX Z-liner, in a goatskin glove certified Level 1 KP to EN 13594:2015. It costs less than the Klim and less than REV'IT!'s own Fusion 3, and the trade is a regular-length cuff rather than a full gauntlet.

Warmest published insulation8.8
$174.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
REV'IT! Fusion 3 GTX

REV'IT! Fusion 3 GTX

REV'IT!'s premium winter glove is built around heated grips: the maker says the inside is "made to conduct the warmth from your grips" and puts its insulation — 3M Thinsulate G 100 g and Exkin Platinum — on the backhand only. It shares the Stratos 3's EN 13594:2015 Level 1 KP certification and GORE-TEX Z-liner and adds a TPU palm slider and PU-injected finger knuckles, at a higher price and with less insulation.

Best with heated grips8.6
$209.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 Drystar

Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 Drystar

The value pick: a fully certified winter touring gauntlet ("CE Certified Category II EN 13594:2015 LEVEL 1 KP") with Alpinestars' own Drystar membrane and Thinsulate on both sides of the hand, for less than any other certified glove here. The shell is mostly textile rather than leather, and Alpinestars prints two different insulation figures on the same page.

Best value8.4
$129.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle Heated

Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle Heated

The heated pick, and the honest way to describe it is as a heating system first and a riding glove second. Gerbing runs Microwire elements to every fingertip off the bike's 12 V system (13 W and 135°F per glove, by Gerbing's figures) inside a cowhide gauntlet with 150 g of insulation and a floating TPU hard knuckle. Gerbing publishes no EN 13594 certification, calls its Aquatex membrane water RESISTANT rather than waterproof, and sells the harness and controller separately.

Best heated7.6
$189.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Cortech Scarab V3

Cortech Scarab V3

The budget winter gauntlet with the most on its spec sheet for the money: a goat leather chassis, a Hipora waterproof membrane, PrimaLoft on both sides of the hand, Superfabric at the knuckles, fingers, thumb and heel of the palm, a shield wiper and a four-year warranty. What Cortech does not publish is any EN 13594 certification, which is why it ranks last among gloves that are otherwise this well specified.

Best budget7.4
$99.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 21, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overallOur score9.0

Klim Badlands GTX Long

The most complete cold-weather build we could source: a CE Level 1 KP glove to EN 13594 with a GORE-TEX membrane bonded to the shell by GORE Grip, so the layers do not slip on the bars. Klim insulates only the back of the hand, with 60 g of 3M Thinsulate, and leaves the palm unlined for feel — which makes it the least insulated of the certified picks and a glove that relies on heated grips in real cold.

Strengths

  • CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594, per Klim's product page
  • GORE-TEX with GORE Grip Technology, backed by Gore's "Guaranteed to keep you dry" promise; the membrane is bonded rather than free-floating
  • Polycarbonate knuckle guard over XRD impact foam, with ceramic-print fabric at the knuckles, palm pad and forearm
  • Dual visor wipers (left for water, right for ice), Mult-E-Touch touchscreen pads and a neoprene gasket inside the gauntlet
  • Sizes XS to 3XL

Trade-offs

  • Only 60 g of Thinsulate, on the backhand only — the least published insulation of the certified gloves on this page
  • The most expensive glove here
  • Klim prints the CE level but not the EN 13594 year, and publishes no weight
MaterialGoat leather with ceramic-print fabric; GORE-TEX + GORE Grip membrane
ArmorCE Level 1 KP (EN 13594); polycarbonate knuckle guard with XRD impact foam
WaterproofYes
Best forAdventure and touring riders who want a four-season waterproof gauntlet and run heated grips

Notable. GORE-TEX bonded to the shell (GORE Grip), 60 g Thinsulate backhand, dual visor wipers

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Warmest published insulationOur score8.8

REV'IT! Stratos 3 GTX

The warmest glove on this page by the makers' own numbers. REV'IT! lists 3M Thinsulate G in 300 g and 80 g weights plus a high-loft fur liner, behind a GORE-TEX Z-liner, in a goatskin glove certified Level 1 KP to EN 13594:2015. It costs less than the Klim and less than REV'IT!'s own Fusion 3, and the trade is a regular-length cuff rather than a full gauntlet.

Strengths

  • "Level 1 KP certified according to standard EN 13594:2015" — the standard and year printed in full
  • The most insulation any maker on this page publishes: 3M Thinsulate G 300 g and 80 g, plus a high-loft fur liner
  • GORE-TEX Z-liner waterproofing in a drum-dyed goatskin shell with a water-repellent finish
  • Hard-shell knuckle over Temperfoam, a Temperfoam palm slider and PWR|Shield at the palm
  • Visor wiper, touchscreen index finger and thumb, sizes S to 4XL

Trade-offs

  • REV'IT! calls the cuff "regular", not long — it sits under the jacket sleeve rather than over it
  • The maker lists both Thinsulate weights without saying which panel each one is in
  • The GORE-TEX layer is a Z-liner hung between shell and lining, not bonded to the palm like the Klim's
  • On the day we checked, stock at the retailer we link was thin in several sizes
MaterialDrum-dyed goatskin with water-repellent finish; PWR|Shell Stretch; GORE-TEX Z-liner
ArmorCE Level 1 KP (EN 13594:2015); hard-shell knuckle over Temperfoam; Temperfoam palm slider
WaterproofYes
Best forRiders in real cold who want the most published insulation without paying flagship money

Notable. 3M Thinsulate G 300 g + 80 g with a high-loft fur liner behind a GORE-TEX Z-liner

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best with heated gripsOur score8.6

REV'IT! Fusion 3 GTX

REV'IT!'s premium winter glove is built around heated grips: the maker says the inside is "made to conduct the warmth from your grips" and puts its insulation — 3M Thinsulate G 100 g and Exkin Platinum — on the backhand only. It shares the Stratos 3's EN 13594:2015 Level 1 KP certification and GORE-TEX Z-liner and adds a TPU palm slider and PU-injected finger knuckles, at a higher price and with less insulation.

Strengths

  • "Level 1 KP certified according to standard EN 13594:2015"
  • Designed for heated grips: insulation on the backhand only, with a lining REV'IT! says conducts grip warmth
  • Hard-shell knuckle, PU-injected finger knuckles and a TPU hard-shell palm slider — more protective hardware than the Stratos 3
  • GORE-TEX Z-liner in a goatskin, 3L softshell and PWR|Shell Stretch chassis with a Pittards grip patch at the palm
  • Visor wiper, touchscreen index finger and thumb, sizes S to 4XL

Trade-offs

  • Costs more than the Stratos 3 while publishing a third of its Thinsulate weight — without heated grips, the Stratos is the warmer buy
  • Regular-length cuff, not a gauntlet
  • Exkin Platinum insulation is named but no weight is given for it
MaterialDrum-dyed goatskin with water-repellent finish; 3L softshell; PWR|Shell Stretch; GORE-TEX Z-liner
ArmorCE Level 1 KP (EN 13594:2015); hard-shell knuckle, PU finger knuckles, TPU palm slider
WaterproofYes
Best forRiders with heated grips who want a sport-protective winter glove that does not mute the bars

Notable. Built for heated grips: backhand-only Thinsulate G 100 g + Exkin Platinum, heat-conducting lining

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best valueOur score8.4

Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 Drystar

The value pick: a fully certified winter touring gauntlet ("CE Certified Category II EN 13594:2015 LEVEL 1 KP") with Alpinestars' own Drystar membrane and Thinsulate on both sides of the hand, for less than any other certified glove here. The shell is mostly textile rather than leather, and Alpinestars prints two different insulation figures on the same page.

Strengths

  • "CE Certified Category II EN 13594:2015 LEVEL 1 KP" — standard, year, level and KP all printed
  • Drystar waterproof and breathable membrane, rated by Alpinestars to 5,000 mm and 5,000 g/m²
  • Thinsulate on both the top of the hand and the palm, where the Klim and both REV'IT! gloves insulate the backhand only
  • Long touring cuff with a single-operation closure that tightens the wrist strap and cuff flap together
  • Touchscreen fingertips, reflective print, sizes S to 3XL; a Stella version is cut for women

Trade-offs

  • Alpinestars' spec list says 150 g Thinsulate on the top hand and 100 g on the palm, while its description says "compact 120g" — the page does not reconcile the two
  • Stretch Nyspan and ripstop polyamide upper with a leather palm, so less leather than the goatskin gloves above it
  • A palm full of insulation blunts feel and blocks heated grips
  • On the day we checked, most sizes at the retailer we link showed only one or two units left
MaterialStretch Nyspan and ripstop polyamide upper; conductive leather palm with synthetic suede; Drystar membrane
ArmorCE Level 1 KP (EN 13594:2015); covered SP Lite knuckle with viscoelastic
WaterproofYes
Best forRiders who want a certified, waterproof, insulated gauntlet at the lowest price on this page

Notable. Certified winter gauntlet with Thinsulate top and palm at the lowest certified price here

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best heatedOur score7.6

Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle Heated

The heated pick, and the honest way to describe it is as a heating system first and a riding glove second. Gerbing runs Microwire elements to every fingertip off the bike's 12 V system (13 W and 135°F per glove, by Gerbing's figures) inside a cowhide gauntlet with 150 g of insulation and a floating TPU hard knuckle. Gerbing publishes no EN 13594 certification, calls its Aquatex membrane water RESISTANT rather than waterproof, and sells the harness and controller separately.

Strengths

  • Microwire heating through the whole glove including every fingertip, powered by the bike — no batteries to run down
  • Gerbing publishes the numbers: 12 V DC, 1.1 A and 13 W per glove, 135°F maximum
  • 150 g of insulation in a cowhide full-length gauntlet with reinforced palm and fingers
  • High-impact floating TPU hard knuckle and gel palm pads — the most knuckle hardware of any heated glove Gerbing sells
  • Touchscreen index finger, sizes S to 3XL

Trade-offs

  • No EN 13594 certification or level is published anywhere on Gerbing's page
  • Gerbing describes the Aquatex membrane as "water-resistant", not waterproof
  • The battery harness, Y-harness and temperature controller are "required for stand-alone operation (sold separately)", so the real cost is higher than the glove price
  • Tethered to the bike by a cable at each cuff, and Gerbing does not name the insulation type
MaterialCowhide leather with reinforced palm and fingers; Aquatex water-resistant membrane
ArmorNo EN 13594 certification published; high-impact floating TPU knuckle, gel palm pads
WaterproofNo
Best forRiders who ride through real winter and would rather plug in than pile on insulation

Notable. 12 V Microwire heating to every fingertip; 13 W and 135°F per glove by Gerbing's figures

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best budgetOur score7.4

Cortech Scarab V3

The budget winter gauntlet with the most on its spec sheet for the money: a goat leather chassis, a Hipora waterproof membrane, PrimaLoft on both sides of the hand, Superfabric at the knuckles, fingers, thumb and heel of the palm, a shield wiper and a four-year warranty. What Cortech does not publish is any EN 13594 certification, which is why it ranks last among gloves that are otherwise this well specified.

Strengths

  • Hipora waterproof, breathable membrane in a goat leather glove with a hook-and-loop gauntlet cuff
  • PrimaLoft published on both sides: 120 g Silver on the backhand and 60 g Gold Eco on the palm
  • TPU knuckle protector plus Superfabric on the knuckle, fingers, thumb, outer wrist and palm heel
  • Shield wiper blade, touchscreen index finger and thumb, sizes S to 4XL
  • Cortech states a four-year warranty

Trade-offs

  • No EN 13594 certification or level is published on Cortech's page
  • 60 g of insulation in the palm blunts feel and gets in the way of heated grips
  • Only one color, and the cheapest leather here — Cortech says "genuine goat leather" without grading it
MaterialGoat leather with Superfabric overlays; microfiber palm overlays; Hipora membrane; polyester microfleece lining
ArmorNo EN 13594 certification published; TPU knuckle protector with Superfabric
WaterproofYes
Best forRiders who want a waterproof, insulated leather gauntlet under the price of the certified picks

Notable. Hipora waterproof goat leather gauntlet with PrimaLoft 120 g back / 60 g palm and a four-year warranty

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we ranked these

Certification first, because a winter glove is still a riding glove.EN 13594 is the European standard for motorcycle gloves, and the test house SATRA describes its two levels plainly: “Level 1 for gloves designed to give protection while having low ergonomic penalties, and level 2 for gloves providing greater protection than level 1.” The standard tests tear strength, seam strength, cut resistance and impact abrasion. Knuckle impact protection, per SATRA, “is an optional feature for level 1 gloves” and mandatory at level 2, and a glove that passes the knuckle test carries the KP mark. Every certified glove on this page is Level 1 KP. None is Level 2, which is normal for insulated touring gloves and worth knowing before you assume a thicker glove is a more protective one. Our CE armor and gear ratings guide covers the whole label system.

Then how the membrane is built.All six gloves put a membrane between you and the weather, but they do it three different ways, and the difference is the most useful thing on this page. It gets its own section below. The short version: the Klim bonds its GORE-TEX to the shell, both REV’IT! gloves and the Alpinestars hang theirs inside as a liner, the Cortech uses a liner from a different membrane maker, and the Gerbing uses a membrane its maker calls water-resistant rather than waterproof.

Then the insulation the maker publishes.Insulation is sold by weight per square meter, and the useful comparison is not just how much but where. REV’IT! prints the most on the Stratos 3 (Thinsulate G in 300 g and 80 g weights, plus a fur liner). Alpinestars prints Thinsulate on both the top of the hand and the palm of the Tourer W-7 V2. Cortech prints PrimaLoft on both sides of the Scarab V3. Klim and REV’IT!’s Fusion 3 insulate the backhand only and leave the palm thin on purpose. And Gerbing prints “150 grams of insulation” without naming what it is. Where a maker prints two numbers that do not agree — Alpinestars does — we show both rather than choose.

Then the cuff, the wipers and the small stuff.A gauntlet that goes over the jacket sleeve seals out wind and rain in a way a short cuff cannot, and four of the six are gauntlets; REV’IT! calls the cuff on both of its gloves “regular,” meaning it sits under the sleeve. Visor wipers matter more in winter than at any other time of year. Every glove here has touchscreen fingertips, so that did not separate them.

The picks side by side

Here is what each maker publishes on the three things this ranking turns on. “Not published” means we could not find the figure on the maker’s page, not that we assume the worst.

GloveEN 13594MembraneInsulation publishedCuff
Klim Badlands GTX LongLevel 1 KP (year not printed)GORE-TEX, bonded (GORE Grip)60 g Thinsulate, backhand onlyGauntlet with neoprene gasket
REV’IT! Stratos 3 GTXLevel 1 KP, EN 13594:2015GORE-TEX Z-linerThinsulate G 300 g and 80 g, plus fur linerRegular
REV’IT! Fusion 3 GTXLevel 1 KP, EN 13594:2015GORE-TEX Z-linerThinsulate G 100 g + Exkin Platinum, backhand onlyRegular
Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 DrystarLevel 1 KP, EN 13594:2015Drystar, 5,000 mmThinsulate 150 g top / 100 g palm (description says 120 g)Long touring cuff
Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard KnuckleNot publishedAquatex, water-resistant150 g, type not named; 12 V heating to every fingertipFull-length gauntlet
Cortech Scarab V3Not publishedHipora linerPrimaLoft 120 g backhand / 60 g palmGauntlet

Bonded, Z-liner or water-resistant: how the membrane is built

A glove is a harder thing to waterproof than a jacket because every layer in it has to bend around four knuckles a few thousand times a ride. The usual construction is a Z-liner: a waterproof membrane sewn as a separate glove-shaped bag between the outer leather and the inner lining. It works, and both REV’IT! gloves and the Alpinestars use it. Its known weaknesses are feel and wet hands. A loose membrane can shift a little on the bars, and if the lining ever gets damp — sweat, or water sneaking in at the cuff — it can grab and pull when you take the glove off.

Gore’s answer is the construction Klim uses on the Badlands GTX Long, which Klim calls “GORE-TEX + GORE Grip Technology.” In Gore’s words, “the usual loose layers within gloves are tightly bonded together for a layered construction that eliminates friction and movement between layers.” The practical result is that the membrane cannot slide against the leather, so the glove feels more like an unlined leather glove on the grips. It is the single biggest reason the Klim tops this list despite carrying the least insulation of the certified picks.

Two of the six do not use GORE-TEX at all. Alpinestars uses its own Drystarmembrane, which it rates at 5,000 mm of water column and 5,000 g/m² of breathability — useful because it is one of the few makers to put a number on the membrane at all. Cortech uses a Hiporaliner, a membrane widely used in mid-priced gloves, with no rating printed. And the Gerbing uses what Gerbing calls an “AQUATEX breathable water-resistant membrane.” We take the maker at its word: water-resistant is not waterproof, and the Gerbing’s waterproof row reads “No” on its card for that reason.

Insulation, or heated grips? Why the palm matters

There are two ways to keep a hand warm on a motorcycle, and they pull a glove in opposite directions. Insulation traps the heat your hand makes, and the more of it you put in the palm, the less you feel of the bars. Heated grips push heat in from the outside, and they only work if the palm is thin enough to let it through. That is why the two most expensive gloves here have the thinnest palms. Klim puts its 60 g of Thinsulate “on backhand” and leaves the inside of the hand unlined. REV’IT! goes further with the Fusion 3 and says it outright: the glove is “designed specifically to work in conjunction with heated grip systems, the inside of the gloves is made to conduct the warmth from your grips.”

If your bike has heated grips, those two are the right shape and the Stratos 3, the Alpinestars and the Cortech — all with insulation in the palm — will partly waste them. If your bike does not, the equation flips: the Klim and the Fusion 3 become the least warm gloves on the page, and the Stratos 3 with its 300 g Thinsulate G becomes the obvious buy. Decide this before you decide anything else.

Which one should you buy?

Buy the Klim Badlands GTX Long if you want the best-built glove here and you have heated grips. It is our top pick because it gets the three things we rank on right in the order we rank them: a Level 1 KP certification to EN 13594, a GORE-TEX membrane bonded to the shell instead of floating inside it, and a full gauntlet with a neoprene gasket inside the cuff and two visor wipers (Klim assigns the left to water and the right to ice). The honest limits are the price, which is the highest on this page, and the insulation, which at 60 g on the backhand only is the least of any certified glove here. Klim also prints the CE level without the EN 13594 year and publishes no weight.

Buy the REV’IT! Stratos 3 GTX if warmth is the whole question.No other maker on this page publishes anything close to its insulation figures, and it pairs them with a GORE-TEX Z-liner, a goatskin shell, a Temperfoam palm slider and the same EN 13594:2015 Level 1 KP certification as the Fusion 3, for less money than either the Klim or the Fusion. The trades are a “regular” cuff that tucks under the sleeve rather than over it, a maker page that lists both Thinsulate weights without saying which panel gets which, and stock that was down to a unit or two in several sizes at the retailer we link on the day we checked.

Buy the REV’IT! Fusion 3 GTX if you have heated grips and want more armor than the Klim.It is the most protective glove here on hardware: a hard-shell knuckle, PU-injected finger knuckles and a TPU palm slider, all inside the same certification and GORE-TEX Z-liner as the Stratos. It costs more than the Stratos while publishing a third of its Thinsulate, and the reason is the heated-grip design above. Without heated grips, buy the Stratos instead. Like the Stratos, it has a regular cuff, and REV’IT! names Exkin Platinum insulation without giving it a weight.

Buy the Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 Drystar if you want a certified winter gauntlet for the least money.Alpinestars prints the certification in full — “CE Certified Category II EN 13594:2015 LEVEL 1 KP” — and puts Thinsulate on both sides of the hand behind a Drystar membrane, with a long touring cuff whose single closure tightens the wrist strap and cuff flap together. Two things to know. The upper is stretch Nyspan and ripstop polyamide with a leather palm, so it is the least leather of the certified picks. And Alpinestars’ own page disagrees with itself on insulation: the spec list says 150 g on the top hand and 100 g on the palm, the description says “compact 120g.” Either way it is a palm full of insulation, so it is not a heated-grip glove. A Stella version is cut for women. Most sizes at the retailer we link showed only one or two units on the check date.

Buy the Gerbing 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle if you ride through real winter and would rather plug in.Gerbing publishes the numbers most heated-glove makers skip: 12 V DC, 1.1 A and 13 W per glove, a maximum of 135°F, and Microwire elements that run to every fingertip. Around that it builds a cowhide gauntlet with 150 g of insulation, a floating TPU hard knuckle and gel palm pads. It ranks fifth for three published reasons. Gerbing prints no EN 13594 certification anywhere. It calls the Aquatex membrane water-resistant, not waterproof. And the glove alone does not work: the battery harness, Y-harness and temperature controller are “required for stand-alone operation (sold separately),” so budget for them, or for one of Gerbing’s heated jacket liners that the gloves plug into directly.

Buy the Cortech Scarab V3 if the budget is firm. For the lowest price on this page it publishes a surprising amount: a goat leather chassis, a Hipora waterproof membrane, PrimaLoft on both the backhand (120 g Silver) and the palm (60 g Gold Eco), a TPU knuckle with Superfabric at the knuckle, fingers, thumb, outer wrist and heel of the palm, a shield wiper, and a four-year warranty. It ranks last because Cortech publishes no EN 13594 certification, which means nothing on that list has been tested to the glove standard. It is a well-specified glove with an unverified protection claim, and we would rather say that than dress it up.

Heated gloves: when they are the better answer

Every insulated glove has a floor. Below some temperature, at some speed, the heat your hand produces cannot keep up with the wind stripping it away, and no amount of Thinsulate changes that; it only slows it down. A heated glove moves the floor by adding heat, which is why riders who genuinely commute through winter tend to end up with one, or with heated grips and a thin-palmed glove like the Klim or the Fusion 3.

The trade-offs are real and none of the makers hide them. A 12 V glove like the Gerbing is tethered to the bike by a cable at each cuff and needs a harness and controller to run. Battery gloves are free of the bike but carry the batteries in the cuff and run for a limited time per charge. And heating hardware crowds out the other things a glove is for: of the heated gloves we checked, only Alpinestars’ HT-7 prints an EN 13594 certification, and it costs roughly three times what the Gerbing does — see the section below. If you go heated, go in knowing you are choosing warmth over a tested protection rating, unless you pay for the one that has both.

Whatever glove you pick, the rest of the setup decides whether it works. A winter glove under a summer jacket with the sleeves flapping is a wet glove by mile ten; our all-season jackets roundup ranks shells by where the waterproof membrane sits, and our helmets for rain page ranks lids on the fogging and sealing problems that arrive with the cold.

What we left out, and why

The Alpinestars HT-7 Heat Tech Drystar.It is the glove that answers the heated-glove problem properly: “Fully CE-certified riding garment to CE Level 1 KP,” a Drystar membrane, 80 g of PrimaLoft on the backhand and a 7.4 V battery system with three heat settings. We left it out because Alpinestars lists it at roughly three times the Gerbing’s price on its US site, and because on the day we checked the retailer we link showed a single unit in most sizes. If you want a heated glove with a certification behind it and the price does not stop you, it is the one to buy.

The Scorpion EXO Tempest II. A well-liked budget cold-weather glove with a Hypora lining, 100 g of Thinsulate everywhere but the palm and a double gauntlet. It publishes no CE certification, which would have put it level with the Cortech, and on our check several sizes at a major US retailer were marked closeout or out of stock. We do not rank a glove that looks to be on its way out.

The Alpinestars Andes V3 Drystar. It shows up in every search for a waterproof glove and it is a good one, but Alpinestars describes it as a mid-season glove and publishes no insulation for it. It is a three-season glove, not a winter one, and it would have been unfair to rank it against gloves carrying 100 to 300 g of Thinsulate.

The Dainese Tempest 2 D-Dry Long. A winter glove we would have liked to include. On our check, the listings we could find were either temporarily out of stock or quoting a two-to-three-week ship time, and we only rank gloves a reader can actually buy in their size.

Low-priced gloves with “CE” in the listing title. Search the phrase at the retailer we link and the results fill with lower-priced winter gloves whose titles claim “CE Level 1 KP” or “EN 13594.” Some of them may be certified. But a listing title is not a maker’s certification page, and we could not find one to check for any of them, so we applied the rule we use on every gear page: we do not rank a protection claim we cannot check against the maker’s own statement. The Cortech is the closest this page comes to an exception, and it earns its place on a maker page that publishes everything except the certification, not on a title.

Frequently asked questions

Are winter motorcycle gloves as protective as regular riding gloves?

They can be, and the way to know is the same: look for an EN 13594 certification printed by the maker. Four of the six gloves here are certified Level 1 KP, the same level as most sport and touring gloves. None is Level 2, which is typical for insulated gloves. Thickness is not protection — a padded glove with no certification has not been tested for abrasion, tearing or knuckle impact, and two gloves on this page fall into that category.

How much insulation does a winter motorcycle glove need?

There is no published standard, and the honest answer depends on whether you have heated grips. Without them, more is better up to the point where you lose feel, and the REV'IT! Stratos 3 with its 300 g and 80 g Thinsulate G is the warmest glove any maker here documents. With heated grips, you want insulation on the back of the hand and a thin palm, which is exactly how Klim builds the Badlands GTX Long (60 g on the backhand) and how REV'IT! builds the Fusion 3 (100 g on the backhand).

Do I need waterproof winter gloves?

For most riders, yes — cold weather and wet weather arrive together, and a wet insulated glove is colder than a dry thin one. Five of the six gloves here use a membrane their maker calls waterproof: GORE-TEX on the Klim and both REV'IT! gloves, Drystar on the Alpinestars and Hipora on the Cortech. The Gerbing uses a membrane Gerbing describes as water-resistant, which is why it is listed as not waterproof on this page.

What is the difference between a GORE-TEX Z-liner and GORE Grip?

A Z-liner is a separate waterproof membrane glove sewn between the outer leather and the inner lining, free to move a little. GORE Grip bonds those layers together so, in Gore's words, the construction eliminates friction and movement between layers. The practical difference is feel on the bars and how the glove behaves when the lining is damp. Both are GORE-TEX and both are waterproof; the Klim uses GORE Grip, the two REV'IT! gloves use a Z-liner.

Are heated motorcycle gloves worth it?

If you ride below freezing or commute through winter, usually yes, because insulation only slows heat loss while a heated glove replaces it. The costs are a cable to the bike for 12 V gloves like the Gerbing, plus a harness and controller sold separately, or batteries and limited run time for battery gloves. The other cost is certification: of the heated gloves we checked, only the Alpinestars HT-7 prints an EN 13594 rating, and it costs roughly three times the Gerbing.

Should winter gloves have a gauntlet cuff?

It helps more in winter than in any other season. A gauntlet that goes over the jacket sleeve seals out wind and stops rain running down into the glove, which is the way most gloves get wet. The Klim, the Alpinestars, the Gerbing and the Cortech are gauntlets; REV'IT! calls the cuff on the Stratos 3 and Fusion 3 'regular', meaning it sits under the sleeve, so with those two make sure your jacket cuff closes tightly over them.

Which winter motorcycle gloves work with heated grips?

The ones with a thin, uninsulated palm. Klim insulates the Badlands GTX Long on the backhand only, and REV'IT! says the Fusion 3 GTX is designed specifically to conduct warmth from heated grips through the inside of the glove. The Stratos 3, the Alpinestars Tourer W-7 V2 and the Cortech Scarab V3 all carry insulation in the palm, which partly blocks grip heat — they are the better choice on a bike without heated grips.

Sources

  • SATRA — EN 13594:2015, protective gloves for motorcycle ridersThe test house's summary of the glove standard: "Level 1 for gloves designed to give protection while having low ergonomic penalties, and level 2 for gloves providing greater protection than level 1"; knuckle impact protection "is an optional feature for level 1 gloves" and mandatory for level 2; minimum cuff length 5 mm (Level 1) or 50 mm (Level 2) from the wrist line (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • GORE-TEX — Grip gloves technologyGore's own description of a bonded glove membrane: "The usual loose layers within gloves are tightly bonded together for a layered construction that eliminates friction and movement between layers" (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Klim — Badlands GTX Long GloveOur top pick: "CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594", "GORE-TEX + GORE Grip Technology", "60 Grams 3M Thinsulate insulation on backhand", polycarbonate knuckle guard with XRD foam, dual visor wipers, sizes XS-3XL — no EN 13594 year and no weight published (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • REV'IT! — Stratos 3 GTX Gloves (US)"Level 1 KP certified according to standard EN 13594:2015", GORE-TEX Z-liner, "3M Thinsulate G 300g" and "3M Thinsulate G 80g" plus a high-loft fur liner, "Regular cuff", sizes S-4XL — the page does not say which panel carries which insulation weight (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • RevZilla — REV'IT! Stratos 3 GTX GlovesUS retailer listing used to confirm the maker's figures: "Thinsulate G 300g, 80g, High loft fur liner", "CE certified to EN 13594:2015 Level 1 Knuckle Protection", regular cuff, and per-size stock on the check date (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • REV'IT! — Fusion 3 GTX Gloves (US)"Level 1 KP certified according to standard EN 13594:2015", GORE-TEX Z-liner, "3M Thinsulate G 100g" and Exkin Platinum with "insulation only at backhand", TPU palm slider, and "the inside of the gloves is made to conduct the warmth from your grips" (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Alpinestars — Tourer W-7 V2 Drystar Gloves"CE Certified Category II EN 13594:2015 LEVEL 1 KP", Drystar membrane rated 5,000 mm / 5,000 g/m², "Thinsulate 150g tophand and Thinsulate 100g palm" in the spec list against "compact 120g Thinsulate insulation" in the description, long touring cuff, sizes S-3XL (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Gerbing — 12V Extreme Hard Knuckle Heated Gloves"Max Heat 135 F" at "13W Each", "12V DC 1.1 Amp Each", Microwire heating to every fingertip, "150 grams of insulation", "AQUATEX breathable water-resistant membrane", floating TPU knuckle, and the harness and controller "required for stand-alone operation (sold separately)" — no EN 13594 certification on the page (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Cortech — Scarab V3 Winter GlovesHipora waterproof membrane, goat leather, "120G of Primaloft silver insulation on the backhand" and "60G of Primaloft Gold ECO" on the palm, TPU knuckle with Superfabric, shield wiper, sizes S-4XL, "4-year warranty" — no EN 13594 certification on the page (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Alpinestars — HT-7 Heat Tech Drystar GlovesThe CE-certified heated alternative we did not rank: "Fully CE-certified riding garment to CE Level 1 KP", 7.4 V battery, three heat settings, 80 g PrimaLoft on the backhand, Drystar membrane — listed on the maker's US site at roughly three times the Gerbing's price (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • RevZilla — Scorpion EXO Tempest II GlovesThe budget glove we did not rank: Hypora lining, 100 g Thinsulate excluding the palm, double gauntlet, no CE certification in the published specs, and several sizes marked closeout or out of stock on the check date (accessed September 21, 2026)

Keep reading