The Lid Test

HJC RPHA 11 Pro vs Shoei RF-1400

The value sport full-face against the premium benchmark. The HJC is 234 g lighter on the makers' own figures and roughly half the money; the Shoei carries Snell M2025 and is a current-generation helmet. Both of those facts matter more than the usual verdict admits.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

Short answer: buy the Shoei RF-1400if you need a current certification — track days, or simply because you want the most-tested helmet available. Buy the HJC RPHA 11 Pro if you ride on the road and want a light composite sport shell for roughly half the money, and you are comfortable with an older ECE protocol on an outgoing generation.

What makes this comparison more interesting than the usual “just buy the Shoei” is that the HJC wins on the spec most riders actually feel. It is 234 g lighteron the published figures. That is not a rounding error over a six-hour day. The Shoei’s advantages are real but they are mostly advantages on paper — which is exactly where a certification argument lives.

The specs, side by side

Every figure below was read from the maker’s own page or a cited US publication, on the date printed on each product card further down. We own neither helmet and have measured nothing — how we review sets out the method.

SpecHJC RPHA 11 ProShoei RF-1400
CertificationDOT, ECE 22.05DOT, Snell M2025
Published weight1,417 g (size M)1,651 g (size not stated)
ShellPIM+ (carbon, fiberglass and aramid hybrid)AIM+ multi-composite, multiple shell sizes
Size rangeXS–2XLXS–3XL
PinlockReady (insert sold separately)Ready (insert sold separately)
Internal sun visorNoNo
Shield systemRapidFire II tool-less swap; enlarged eye portCWR-F2 with vortex generators
Generation statusOutgoing (replaced by the RPHA 12)Current
Price tierMidPremium
Our spec score8.69.3

Certification: the real gap, and it is not just Snell

There are two separate things going on here and they get conflated constantly.

First, the Snell line. The RF-1400 carries Snell M2025; the RPHA 11 Pro carries no Snell at all. Snell is the only one of the three certifications on a US helmet shelf that is verified by an independent third party which also pulls production helmets for random re-testing, and its protocol asks the most of a shell on impact energy. Whether you need that is a separate question we answer at length in do you need a Snell helmet— the short version is no for street riding and almost certainly yes on track.

Second, and underrated: the ECE generation.HJC’s US page states ECE 22.05for the RPHA 11, not 22.06. That matters more than the version number suggests. ECE 22.06 added oblique-impact testing that measures rotational acceleration — the mechanism behind a large share of serious brain injury — tested more impact points on the shell, and brought visors and accessories into the approval. A 22.05 helmet was never tested against any of it. Our ECE 22.06 vs 22.05 guide walks through the whole change list.

So on certification the Shoei wins twice: it holds a current third-party rating the HJC does not have, and the HJC’s European approval is a generation behind. If certification is the axis you are buying on, the comparison is over here, and our safest helmets ranking is the page to read next.

Weight: the HJC wins, and the gap is large

1,417 g against 1,651 g.Rider Magazine cites 3 lb 2 oz for a medium RPHA 11 Pro; Shoei publishes 3.64 lb for the RF-1400. That is a 234 g difference in the HJC’s favor, and 234 g on your neck is the kind of thing you notice on hour five of a highway day, not something you need a stopwatch to detect.

Two honest caveats, because the published record is not as tidy as the headline number. Shoei does not state a reference size for its 3.64 lb figure, so we are comparing a stated medium against an unstated one. And webBikeWorld measured an XL RPHA 11 Pro at 1,502 g, so the real gap narrows as the size goes up. Treat 234 g as the best available comparison rather than a precise delta — and read our lightest helmets ranking if weight is the deciding factor, because neither of these is the answer there.

Construction: different philosophies, both composite

Both helmets use a real composite shell rather than the injection-moulded polycarbonate you find lower down the market — see our shell materials guide for why that distinction is worth paying for.

HJC’s PIM+is a carbon, fiberglass and aramid hybrid, tuned for low mass. Shoei’s AIM+ is a hand-laid multi-composite of interwoven fiberglass and organic fibers, and the thing Shoei does that HJC does not at this price is tool the RF-1400 in multiple shell sizes across an XS–3XL range. That is why a small RF-1400 does not feel like a mushroom: the shell itself shrinks rather than being padded out with EPS. The RPHA 11 Pro runs XS–2XL. If you are at either end of the size chart, that is a point for the Shoei that the weight column does not show.

Features: closer than you would expect

Neither helmet has an internal sun visor. The RF-1400 does not have one because Shoei would rather you swapped to a tinted shield; the RPHA 11 Pro simply does not have one. Both are Pinlock-ready, and in bothcases the insert is a separate purchase — see stopping a helmet fogging for why we treat that as real money rather than an optional extra.

The HJC’s useful feature is RapidFire II, which makes a shield change a ten-second tool-less job — and given that a tinted shield is how you solve the no-sun-visor problem on either helmet, it is a more relevant advantage than it looks. Shoei’s useful feature is the CWR-F2 shield with vortex generators, aimed squarely at wind noise, which is the complaint riders actually voice most often. Neither maker publishes a verifiable noise figure and no independent body measures helmet noise, so we rank on the design intent and say so — our quietest helmets page explains why nobody can honestly rank by decibels.

The generation question

One more thing to know before you spend money, because it changes how you read the price. The RPHA 11 Pro is the outgoing generation.HJC has launched the RPHA 12 above it on an ECE 22.06 certification and a revised PIM EVO shell. The 11 Pro is still widely stocked and distinctly cheaper, and the whole value case is that gap — you are buying last year’s flagship at a discount, which is a perfectly good thing to do, as long as you are doing it deliberately. The RF-1400 is current.

There is also an Amazon-specific wrinkle worth stating plainly: as of our last live listing check the plain PIM+ RPHA 11 Pro was no longer listed on Amazon, and the complete-helmet listing our buy button resolves to is the Carbon Littcolor option. Same RPHA 11 Pro shell family, same HJ-26 shield, so the specs here hold — but you should know which helmet you are clicking through to.

The spoiler: neither of these may be the answer

If the argument that moved you is the weight, the honest thing to tell you is that the AGV K6-S beats both. A carbon-aramid shell at a published 1,255 g— 162 g lighter than the HJC and 396 g lighter than the Shoei — with DOT and ECE 22.06, and a 190-degree Ultravision eye port. It has no internal sun visor either, and it sits at premium money rather than the HJC’s mid tier.

We put it on this page rather than leaving it out because a two-helmet comparison that hides the helmet which wins both arguments is not a comparison, it is a sales page. If you want that one against the Shoei directly, we have RF-1400 vs K6-S.

The decision, in four lines

Track days, or you want the most-tested helmet:RF-1400. Snell M2025, current generation, multiple shell sizes. Check your organizer’s tech rules first — our track-day ranking is built around that requirement.

Road riding, composite shell, least money: RPHA 11 Pro, knowingly. It is the better value in this pair and the lighter helmet.

Weight is the whole point: AGV K6-S, which gets you 22.06 as well.

Either way: get the sizing right before the badge. Both of these are intermediate-oval-friendly shells — though HJC publishes no head shape for the RPHA 11 Pro at all, which our head shapes guide explains how to work around.

The three helmets, with live prices

The two helmets in the title, plus the third one that complicates the answer and deserves to be on the page rather than hidden from it. Specs are read from the maker or US retailer listing named on each card, on the date shown; prices are pulled live and carry the date they were checked.

#1Best value of the twoOur score8.6

HJC RPHA 11 Pro

The value sport helmet that keeps showing up on best-of lists for a reason: a PIM+ carbon-blend shell at a published ~1,417 g in medium, an enlarged eye port, and tool-less shield changes — at roughly half a premium flagship's price.

Strengths

  • PIM+ carbon-fiberglass-aramid shell is light — Rider Magazine cites 3 lb 2 oz (~1,417 g) in medium
  • Enlarged eye port and full front-to-back ACS ventilation aimed at track use
  • RapidFire II tool-less shield swaps make a tinted or clear change a 10-second job

Trade-offs

  • Certified to the older ECE 22.05 (plus DOT), not the newer 22.06 protocol
  • The outgoing generation — HJC has since launched the RPHA 12 as its replacement, on an ECE 22.06 certification and a revised PIM EVO shell. The 11 Pro is still widely sold, and the value case is exactly that gap
  • No internal sun visor
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.05
Weight1417 g
ShellPIM+ (carbon, fiberglass and aramid hybrid)
Head shapeNot published
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. ACS full airflow; enlarged eye port; RapidFire II tool-less shield

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best certification and buildOur score9.3

Shoei RF-1400

The full-face benchmark most riders are quietly measuring everything else against. Snell M2025 plus DOT, a hand-laid AIM+ composite shell, and Shoei's quietest, most refined shield system — it earns the price on the spec sheet, not the badge.

Strengths

  • Carries both DOT and Snell M2025 — the stricter Snell impact protocol on top of the US legal minimum
  • AIM+ multi-composite shell in multiple sizes keeps the fit true and the weight sensible for a fiberglass lid
  • CWR-F2 shield and vortex generators are aimed squarely at wind noise, the thing most riders complain about

Trade-offs

  • Premium money — you're paying for the shell and finish, not gadgets
  • No drop-down internal sun visor (Shoei's design choice; you swap to a tinted shield instead)
CertificationsDOT, Snell M2025
Weight1651 g
ShellAIM+ multi-composite (interwoven fiberglass and organic fibers)
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-3XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. CWR-F2 shield with vortex generators; 3D Max-Dry liner; emergency quick-release cheek pads

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The spoiler: lighter and ECE 22.06Our score9.1

AGV K6 S

A carbon-aramid shell at roughly 1,255 g makes the K6 S one of the lightest DOT-and-ECE-22.06 full-faces you can buy, with a genuinely wide 190-degree eye port. If you notice helmet weight on a long day, this is the short list.

Strengths

  • Carbon-aramid shell — AGV's published 1,255 g is class-leadingly light for the segment
  • Certified to ECE 22.06, the newest standard with rotational and multi-point impact testing
  • Ultravision visor gives a 190-degree horizontal field of view and ships Pinlock-ready

Trade-offs

  • No internal sun visor — a tinted shield is a separate purchase
  • Sport-leaning fit and shell shape suit an intermediate-oval head best
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.06
Weight1255 g
ShellCarbon-aramid fiber
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. 190-degree Ultravision visor (Optical Class 1); 5-density EPS; ARK comms-ready

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Shoei RF-1400 worth twice the price of an HJC RPHA 11 Pro?

It depends entirely on whether you need a current certification. The RF-1400 carries Snell M2025 on top of DOT, is a current-generation helmet, and is tooled in multiple shell sizes so a small head is not wearing a shell packed with EPS. The RPHA 11 Pro is on the older ECE 22.05 protocol, is the outgoing generation - HJC's replacement is the RPHA 12 on ECE 22.06 - and is 234 g lighter on the published figures. If you ride track days where a current homologation is checked, the Shoei is the purchase and the price question does not arise. If you ride on the road and want a composite sport shell for the least money, the HJC is a genuinely strong buy.

Which is lighter, the RPHA 11 Pro or the RF-1400?

The HJC, by 234 g on the makers' and reviewers' published figures: 1,417 g for a medium RPHA 11 Pro per Rider Magazine against Shoei's 3.64 lb (about 1,651 g) for the RF-1400. Two honest caveats. Shoei does not state a reference size for its figure, and webBikeWorld measured an XL RPHA 11 Pro at 1,502 g, so the gap narrows as the size goes up. Both are beaten outright by the AGV K6-S at a published 1,255 g, which also carries ECE 22.06.

Is ECE 22.05 still safe?

It is a real certification and a 22.05 helmet is not an unsafe helmet - but it is the previous protocol, and the difference is not cosmetic. ECE 22.06 added oblique-impact testing that measures rotational acceleration, tested more impact points, and brought visors and accessories into the approval. A 22.05 helmet was never tested against any of that. If two helmets are otherwise close, the 22.06 one has cleared tests the 22.05 one has not. Our full guide works through exactly what changed.

Does the HJC RPHA 11 Pro have a Snell rating?

No. HJC's US page for the RPHA 11 states DOT and ECE 22.05, and no Snell certification. The RF-1400 carries Snell M2025. That is the single biggest spec difference between the two helmets, and it is the one that matters if your track-day organizer's tech rules name a current Snell homologation.

Does either helmet have an internal sun visor?

Neither one. The RF-1400 has no drop-down sun visor by Shoei's design choice - you swap to a tinted shield instead - and the RPHA 11 Pro does not have one either. Both are Pinlock-ready, and in both cases the Pinlock insert is a separate purchase. If a drop-down sun visor is a requirement, look at the LS2 Stream II or the HJC RPHA 91 modular instead.

Is the RPHA 11 Pro discontinued?

It is the outgoing generation. HJC has launched the RPHA 12 above it on an ECE 22.06 certification and a revised PIM EVO shell, and the 11 Pro is still widely stocked and distinctly cheaper. The value case for the 11 Pro is that gap. Worth knowing for Amazon shoppers specifically: as of our last live check the plain PIM+ RPHA 11 Pro was no longer listed there, and the complete-helmet listing we link is the Carbon Litt color option - the same RPHA 11 Pro shell family and the same HJ-26 shield, so the specs on this page hold.

Which one should a sport rider on a budget buy?

The RPHA 11 Pro, with your eyes open about the 22.05 certification and the generation. It gives you a carbon-fiberglass-aramid composite shell, an enlarged eye port, full front-to-back ACS ventilation and tool-less RapidFire II shield swaps at mid-tier money, and the lower weight is a real comfort advantage on a long day. If you can stretch, the AGV K6-S is the helmet that answers the same brief with ECE 22.06 and less weight again.

Sources

Keep reading