The Lid Test

Shoei RF-1400 vs Arai Contour-X

Two hand-laid Japanese street full-faces with the same certification stack and the same stated interior shape. The difference is how each one builds the shell, what is in the box, and how much you pay for the last 136 grams.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

For most street riders, the Shoei RF-1400 is the one to buy, and the Arai Contour-X is the one to buy if the Arai shell fits your head better. That is the honest verdict, and it is not a hedge. These two helmets carry the same certification stack, the same stated interior shape and the same absence of an internal sun visor. The RF-1400 does it for meaningfully less money, which makes it the default. The Contour-X answers with 136 g less published weight, four shell sizes instead of an unstated number, and a Pinlock insert already in the box — and if your head is the shape Arai builds for, none of the price argument survives the first fitting.

If your real question is the weight rather than the badge, there is a third answer. The HJC RPHA 11 Pro is published at 1,417 g in medium — lighter than both — at roughly a third of the Arai’s money, and it gives up the Snell rating to get there. We have put a card for it at the bottom of this page rather than pretending the choice is binary.

What both helmets publish

Everything in this table was read from the page named on each product card below, on the date recorded there. Where a maker does not publish a figure, this page says so rather than filling the gap.

 Shoei RF-1400Arai Contour-X
Certification (US listing)DOT FMVSS 218, Snell M2025DOT FMVSS 218, Snell M2025
ECE 22.06 stated?NoNo
Published weight1,651 g (3.64 lb, Shoei USA; size not stated)1,515 g (3.34 lb, RevZilla and Cycle Gear; size not stated)
ShellAIM+ multi-composite (interwoven fiberglass and organic fibers)PB e-cLc, hand-laid (Peripherally Belted e-Complex Laminate Construction)
Shell sizesMultiple; count not stated on the page we readFour (XS, SM, MD-LG, XL-2XL)
Stated interior shapeIntermediate ovalIntermediate oval
SizesXS–3XLXS–2XL
ShieldCWR-F2 with vortex generators; Pinlock-ready, insert sold separatelyVAS MAX Vision; clear Pinlock insert included
Internal sun visorNoNo
VentilationNot published as a port count on the page we read13 ports (7 intake, 6 exhaust), brow vents in the shield
Emergency cheek-pad releaseYes (quick-release cheek pads)Yes (Emergency Release System)
Our spec score9.39.1

Certification: a genuine tie, and that is the point

Nothing either company publishes separates these helmets on protection. Both carry DOT FMVSS 218, the US legal minimum, and both carry Snell M2025, the stricter voluntary standard written by the Snell Memorial Foundation. Snell certification is not a marketing tier: it is a separate test protocol with its own impact energies, its own penetration test and its own chin-bar and retention-system requirements, and a manufacturer pays to have samples tested against it. Two helmets that both hold M2025 have both cleared the same bar.

Neither US listing states an ECE 22.06 approval, which means neither one publishes the oblique-impact rotational testing that 22.06 added. That is worth knowing and it is not a knock on either helmet specifically — it is a market artifact. Both companies sell ECE-approved versions of their street helmets in Europe; the unit a US buyer receives is certified against DOT and Snell. If published rotational-impact testing is the thing you want, the helmets in our safest helmets ranking that carry ECE 22.06 are the ones to look at, and our helmet safety ratings guide walks the whole standards landscape.

Construction: a belt and a curve against a woven matrix

This is where the two helmets stop being interchangeable. Shoei’s AIM+ shell interweaves fiberglass with organic fibers into a multi-composite laminate, and the company builds the RF-1400 in more than one shell size — it does not state how many on the page we read, so we do not quote a figure.

Arai does something structurally different and talks about it constantly. The Contour-X shell is PB e-cLc— a hand-laid laminate with a peripheral belt around the opening — and the whole surface is built to Arai’s R75 rule: no point on the shell has a radius tighter than 75 mm. The stated intent is a shell with nothing on it for the road to catch, so an impact is more likely to glance than to snag. It is a design argument rather than a certified claim, and Arai is clear about which it is. On top of that, Arai builds four shell sizes across XS to 2XL, so a small head gets a small shell instead of a thick liner.

The practical consequence of the Arai approach shows up on the scale: 1,515 g against 1,651 g, a published difference of 136 g. Over a long day that is noticeable at the neck, particularly for riders who already find a full-face tiring. It is not a safety difference and neither company claims it is.

In the box: the Pinlock is the sleeper difference

The Arai includes a clear Pinlock insert; the Shoei does not.The RF-1400’s CWR-F2 shield is Pinlock-ready, which means the pins are there and the insert is a purchase. The Contour-X’s VAS MAX Vision shield arrives with the insert fitted or boxed. If you ride in the cold, the wet, or at night in humidity, an anti-fog insert is not an accessory — it is the difference between seeing and not seeing, as our fogging guide goes through in detail. Price the two helmets with an insert in both baskets before you compare them.

Ventilation is the other asymmetry in the published record. Arai states the port count outright — 13 ports, 7 intake and 6 exhaust, with the brow vents built into the shield rather than drilled through the shell. Shoei describes the RF-1400’s airflow and its vortex generators but does not publish a port count on the page we read. That is a documentation difference, not a proof that one helmet flows more air, and we are not going to rank airflow on a number only one company printed.

Fit: the part that actually decides it

Both helmets are sold as intermediate oval, and that is the most misleading agreement on this page. “Intermediate oval” is a descriptive label each manufacturer applies to its own interior; there is no standard behind it and no measurement you can compare. Arai’s R75 geometry and four-shell strategy produce a fit that riders describe very differently from Shoei’s, and it is common for someone to find one of these two excellent and the other unwearable within ten minutes.

So the buying order is: try both, in the same session, with the same hair, for at least fifteen minutes each. Then buy whichever one has no pressure point. A correctly fitting helmet that costs more is a better purchase than a bargain that gives you a forehead hot spot at mile forty. Our head-shape guide explains how to work out which family you are in, and how tight a helmet should be covers what break-in legitimately fixes and what it never will.

Who should buy which

Buy the RF-1400if you want the certification stack, a composite shell and Shoei’s shield refinement for the least money, and the Shoei fit suits you. It is the broader size range of the two (XS–3XL against XS–2XL), it scores higher on our spec rubric, and it is the one we rank first in the full-face roundup.

Buy the Contour-X if the Arai shell is the one that fits, if you want the lightest hand-laid Snell helmet of the pair, if you value the four shell sizes because you are at one end of the range, or if you simply prefer that Arai puts the anti-fog insert in the box and prints its vent count.

Buy neitherif the weight is what you were chasing all along. The HJC RPHA 11 Pro’s published 1,417 g in medium undercuts both, and it costs a fraction of the Arai. What you give up is the Snell rating and the certification generation — HJC lists it at ECE 22.05 plus DOT, not 22.06 — and HJC has already moved the line on to the RPHA 12. For a rider who wants light and composite without flagship money, that trade is a reasonable one to make knowingly, and the card below prices it live.

One thing neither helmet will do is tell you how quiet it is. Neither company publishes a decibel figure for these models, no independent body measures helmet noise in the US, and anyone quoting you a dB number for an RF-1400 or a Contour-X got it from a microphone taped inside a helmet on one bike at one speed. If noise is your deciding factor, read what the makers actually publish about noise before you trust a number.

The two helmets, with live prices

Both cards below read from the same registry as the tables above, so the specs here cannot disagree with the comparison. Each card names the page its specs were read from and the date we read it; prices are live and carry the date they were pulled. A third card follows for the rider whose real question is the weight rather than the badge.

#1Start here for most street ridersOur score9.3

Shoei RF-1400

The full-face benchmark most riders are quietly measuring everything else against. Snell M2025 plus DOT, a hand-laid AIM+ composite shell, and Shoei's quietest, most refined shield system — it earns the price on the spec sheet, not the badge.

Strengths

  • Carries both DOT and Snell M2025 — the stricter Snell impact protocol on top of the US legal minimum
  • AIM+ multi-composite shell in multiple sizes keeps the fit true and the weight sensible for a fiberglass lid
  • CWR-F2 shield and vortex generators are aimed squarely at wind noise, the thing most riders complain about

Trade-offs

  • Premium money — you're paying for the shell and finish, not gadgets
  • No drop-down internal sun visor (Shoei's design choice; you swap to a tinted shield instead)
CertificationsDOT, Snell M2025
Weight1651 g
ShellAIM+ multi-composite (interwoven fiberglass and organic fibers)
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-3XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. CWR-F2 shield with vortex generators; 3D Max-Dry liner; emergency quick-release cheek pads

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Buy this if the Arai shell fits you betterOur score9.1

Arai Contour-X

Arai's current street full-face, and the helmet most riders actually mean when they say “Arai.” DOT plus Snell M2025 in a hand-laid PB e-cLc shell built in four shell sizes, a Pinlock insert in the box, and Arai's R75 round-shell rule applied throughout. Lighter than Shoei's RF-1400 on the published figures, and noticeably more expensive.

Strengths

  • DOT plus Snell M2025 — the same certification stack as Shoei's RF-1400 benchmark
  • Four shell sizes (XS, SM, MD-LG, XL-2XL), so the shell scales with your head instead of the liner doing all the work
  • VAS MAX Vision shield ships with a clear Pinlock insert included, not merely Pinlock-ready
  • 13 ventilation ports (7 intake, 6 exhaust), with brow vents built into the shield rather than drilled through the shell

Trade-offs

  • Consistently the most expensive way to buy this certification stack — the RF-1400 undercuts it by a wide margin
  • No ECE 22.06 stated on the US listing, so no published rotational-impact testing
  • No drop-down internal sun visor; you swap to a tinted shield instead
CertificationsDOT, Snell M2025
Weight1515 g
ShellPB e-cLc (Peripherally Belted e-Complex Laminate Construction, hand-laid)
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. R75 continuous-curve shell; VAS MAX Vision shield with Pinlock included; four shell sizes; Emergency Release System cheek pads

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on August 23, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The lighter helmet for much less moneyOur score8.6

HJC RPHA 11 Pro

The value sport helmet that keeps showing up on best-of lists for a reason: a PIM+ carbon-blend shell at a published ~1,417 g in medium, an enlarged eye port, and tool-less shield changes — at roughly half a premium flagship's price.

Strengths

  • PIM+ carbon-fiberglass-aramid shell is light — Rider Magazine cites 3 lb 2 oz (~1,417 g) in medium
  • Enlarged eye port and full front-to-back ACS ventilation aimed at track use
  • RapidFire II tool-less shield swaps make a tinted or clear change a 10-second job

Trade-offs

  • Certified to the older ECE 22.05 (plus DOT), not the newer 22.06 protocol
  • The outgoing generation — HJC has since launched the RPHA 12 as its replacement, on an ECE 22.06 certification and a revised PIM EVO shell. The 11 Pro is still widely sold, and the value case is exactly that gap
  • No internal sun visor
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.05
Weight1417 g
ShellPIM+ (carbon, fiberglass and aramid hybrid)
Head shapeNot published
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. ACS full airflow; enlarged eye port; RapidFire II tool-less shield

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Arai Contour-X safer than the Shoei RF-1400?

Not on anything either company publishes. Both helmets carry DOT FMVSS 218 and Snell M2025, which is the same certification stack and the same pass thresholds, and neither US listing states an ECE 22.06 approval. Nothing in the published record separates them on protection. What separates them is construction philosophy and fit, and on those two points they are genuinely different helmets.

Which one is lighter?

The Contour-X, by 136 g on the published figures: RevZilla and Cycle Gear both list it at 3.34 lb (1,515 g), while Shoei USA publishes 3.64 lb (1,651 g) for the RF-1400 and RevZilla and Cycle Gear list 3.62 lb. Neither figure names the size it was measured at, so treat the gap as real but approximate. For context, it is roughly the weight of a modern smartphone, and it is less than the gap between an RF-1400 and most polycarbonate budget helmets.

Does either helmet include a Pinlock insert?

Only the Arai. The Contour-X's VAS MAX Vision shield ships with a clear Pinlock insert in the box, where the RF-1400's CWR-F2 shield is Pinlock-ready and the insert is a separate purchase. On a helmet that will be ridden in the cold or the wet, that is a real difference in the out-the-door cost and the first thing to add to an RF-1400 order.

What are Arai's four shell sizes and why do they matter?

Arai builds the Contour-X in four shell sizes — XS, SM, MD-LG and XL-2XL — so the outer shell scales with your head rather than a thicker comfort liner doing the adjusting. A rider at either end of the size range gets a shell closer to their actual head volume, which means less bulk on a small head and less liner compression on a large one. Shoei also builds the RF-1400 in multiple shell sizes, but does not state the count on the page we read, so we do not quote a number for it.

Neither has a drop-down sun visor. Is that a problem?

It is a design choice both companies make at this level, and the workaround is a tinted shield rather than an internal visor. Both use tool-less shield systems, so a swap takes under a minute, but it is a swap you have to plan for rather than a lever you flick at a traffic light. If an internal sun visor is a requirement, neither of these is your helmet — the LS2 Stream II has one at a fraction of the price, and the Shoei Neotec 3 and HJC RPHA 91 both have one on the modular side.

Why is the Contour-X more expensive if the certification is the same?

You are paying for the construction and the shell count, not for a protection claim. Arai hand-lays its PB e-cLc shell and applies its R75 continuous-curve rule across the whole surface, builds four shells for the size range, and puts the Pinlock insert in the box. Whether that is worth the premium over an RF-1400 depends entirely on whether the Arai shell suits your head, which is a fitting-room question and not a spec-sheet one.

Both say intermediate oval. Will they fit the same?

No, and this is the single most common mistake made when shortlisting these two. Intermediate oval is a descriptive label each company applies to its own interior, not a standardized measurement, and Arai's R75 shell geometry and four shell sizes produce a distinctly different feel from Shoei's liner-led fit. Riders who have worn both routinely find one acceptable and the other not. Try both on in the same session before you commit, and read our head-shape guide first.

Sources

Keep reading