The Lid Test

Airbag Vest vs Back Protector

Two answers to the same problem, certified under two different standards that cannot be compared on a single number. One inflates and covers zones armor cannot reach; the other never fails to work, never needs charging and costs a fraction as much.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

Short answer: buy the back protector first. If you have one and you want the next real upgrade, buy the airbag — and if you want the highest published attenuation number, that is the Alpinestars Tech-Air 3 V2 Canvas rather than the flagship. A certified passive protector costs a fraction of an airbag, it is always working, there is nothing to charge or clip in or remember, and it cannot decline to deploy. An airbag vest covers zones a pad physically cannot reach and is a genuine step up — it is also a device, with a battery, a consumable and a service model.

One thing to get straight before the specs, because almost every version of this comparison online gets it wrong: these two products are certified under different standards, and their levels are not comparable. Anyone telling you an airbag “Level 2” is twice a back protector “Level 1” is reading two different test reports as if they were one scale.

The standards, and why you cannot cross-compare them

There are three separate standards in play here and they test different objects.

StandardWhat it certifiesWhere you see it
EN 1621-4:2013Inflatable protectors — airbag systemsEvery airbag vest on this page
EN 1621-2:2014Passive back protectorsArmored base layers, and the pad inside some airbag vests
EN 1621-3:2018Passive chest protectorsChest pads in armored vests and shirts
EN 17092-6:2020The GARMENT, Class C — an impact-protector holder with no abrasion requirementArmored shirts and some airbag vests

Each of the first three issues its own Level 1 and Level 2. They are not a common currency. Our CE armor guide works through the markings in full, including the T+ and T−suffixes, which tell you a pad held its level when tested hot and cold rather than only at room temperature — a genuinely useful detail that very few makers publish.

The fourth standard is the one riders most often misread. Class C means the garment is a holder for protectors and carries no abrasion requirement at all.Klim states exactly that for the Tactical Pro. Neither an armored shirt nor an airbag vest is a substitute for a jacket — impact and abrasion are two different problems, and our leather vs textile comparison is about the other one.

Coverage: where the airbag genuinely wins

This is the real argument for an airbag, and it is not about the numbers. It is about geography.

ProductPublished coveragePublished certificationPublished weight
Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 Plasma (airbag)Chest, ribs, back, shouldersEN 1621-4:2013 Level 11,530 g
Alpinestars Tech-Air 3 V2 Canvas (airbag)Full chest and full backEN 1621-4:2013 Level 22,660–3,040 g
Hit-Air MLV2 (airbag)Neck, back, hips and sidesEN 1621-4:2013, level not published1,400–1,600 g
Alpinestars Nucleon Flex Pro (armor)Back and chest onlyEN 1621-2:2014 Level 2 back (T+/T−); EN 1621-3:2018 Level 2 chestNot published
Klim Tactical Pro (armor)Chest, back, shoulders; soft rib paddingLevel 2 chest, Level 2 back, Level 1 shoulder; garment EN 17092-6 Class CNot published

Read the Hit-Air row. Neck and hips. No passive armor product in our registry covers either, because you cannot sensibly wear a rigid pad over either one. That is the thing an airbag does that armor structurally cannot, and it is a better argument for buying one than any attenuation level.

Now read the two Alpinestars rows together, because they produce the most counter-intuitive finding on this page. The cheaper Tech-Air 3 V2 publishes Level 2 for chest and back; the flagship Tech-Air 5 Plasma publishes Level 1. What the flagship gives you instead is shoulder and rib coverage, roughly half the weight, under-jacket wear and a gas inflator you can replace yourself. That is a real trade in both directions, and it is laid out in full on our airbag vest ranking.

Reliability: where the back protector genuinely wins

A passive protector has no failure mode. It does not run out of charge, it does not need to decide whether this is a crash, and it does not need a lanyard clipped to anything. You put the jacket on and the protection is on. For a lot of riders that is worth more than any extra zone.

An airbag, by contrast, has to be working:

Electronic vests have to be charged and have to decide.Alpinestars publishes up to 30 hours of ride time on the Tech-Air 5 Plasma and up to 40 hours with a four-hour full charge on the Tech-Air 3 V2, which is generous — but a flat vest is a vest that does nothing. On the upside, six sensors reading accelerometers and gyroscopes means an electronic vest can fire in a crash where you never leave the bike, and Alpinestars states full inflation at approximately 50 milliseconds.

Tethered vests have to be clipped in — and only fire if you come off.The Hit-Air MLV2 has no battery, no app and no subscription, which is a genuine advantage. The cost is structural: a lanyard fires on separation, so a crash where you and the machine stay together does not trigger it. And you have to remember to clip in, which is the classic tethered-vest failure — along with the equally classic business of forgetting to unclip before you dismount.

And an airbag is a consumable. Alpinestars certifies the Tech-Air 5 Plasma bag for up to six deployments before replacement, and the Tech-Air 3 V2 goes to a certified dealer for a new gas cartridge. Hit-Air you re-arm yourself with a new CO2 cartridge and a repack. A back protector you simply keep wearing.

The thing that decides it: which one will you actually wear?

Everything above is a spec argument, and spec arguments lose to the garage. The best protector in the world is the one still hanging up on a hot day.

This is why the Klim Tactical Pro is on this page despite being outgunned on paper by a vest with Level 2 everywhere. It is a four-way-stretch cooling shirt with mineral-treated fabric you can wear as your outer layer in August, carrying Level 2 chest and back pads and the only stated garment certification of any armor product in our registry. Armor you will wear at 95 degrees beats armor you will not. The same reasoning is why the Tech-Air 5 Plasmais the airbag we rank first overall despite its Level 1 rating — at 1,530 g under a normal jacket, it is the one most riders will keep putting on.

If heat is your limiting factor, our summer riding gear guide covers how to keep an armor layer in play when it is genuinely hot.

The decision

Buying your first protection beyond a jacket? A certified back or chest protector, under the jacket you own. The Alpinestars Nucleon Flex Pro Vestis the slim route to Level 2 at both the spine and the chest, with both pads marked T+ and T−. Start from our armored base layer ranking.

Already have a back protector and want the real next step? An airbag. Choose on coverage and on how you will live with it, not on the level: the Tech-Air 5 Plasma for under-jacket wear and the widest zone list, the Tech-Air 3 V2 Canvas for the highest published attenuation over your existing jacket, the Hit-Air MLV2 if you want hip and neck coverage with no electronics at all.

Hot climate and you keep leaving the armor at home? The Klim Tactical Pro, and stop optimizing. Our guide to ATGATT is about exactly this gap between the gear you own and the gear you wear.

In every case:this is impact protection, not abrasion protection. You still need a jacket with a published EN 17092 abrasion class — see our jacket ranking— because no airbag and no pad stops the road taking skin off.

Two airbags and two armor layers, with live prices

The picks are deliberately paired: the highest published airbag attenuation level, the airbag with no electronics at all, the slimmest Level 2 armor vest, and the armored shirt that carries a garment certification too. Specs are read from the maker page named on each card, on the date shown; prices are pulled live and carry the date they were checked.

#1Highest published airbag levelOur score8.9

Alpinestars Tech-Air 3 V2 Canvas

The one number that beats the flagship: Alpinestars publishes Level 2 attenuation for chest and back here, against Level 1 on the Tech-Air 5 Plasma, and it costs less. The trade is bulk and coverage — it is a canvas vest worn over your jacket, it weighs two to three times as much, it protects chest and back only, and a deployment goes back to a Tech-Air dealer.

Strengths

  • Level 2 impact attenuation for chest and back — the highest airbag level published by any pick on this page
  • Six integrated sensors (three accelerometers, three gyroscopes), with full inflation Alpinestars states at approximately 50 milliseconds
  • Up to 40 hours of runtime and a stated four-hour full charge — the longest battery here
  • Works over any jacket, so it fits gear you already own instead of demanding a jacket with room underneath
  • XS-4XL size run and no subscription fee

Trade-offs

  • 2,660-3,040 g depending on size — nearly twice the Tech-Air 5 Plasma, and a vest over a jacket is something you feel
  • Chest and back only: no shoulder or rib coverage, both of which the flagship publishes
  • Gas cartridge replacement is handled by a certified Tech-Air dealer, not by you
  • Alpinestars' own page prints the standard as “EN1624-4:2013”, a typo for the airbag standard EN 1621-4:2013 — we record it as the latter
DeploymentElectronic — 6 integrated sensors (3 accelerometers, 3 gyroscopes)
CoverageFull chest and full back
Airbag certificationEN 1621-4:2013 Level 2, chest and back (printed “EN1624-4:2013” on Alpinestars' page); garment EN 17092-6 Class C outer garment; Category II PPE under (EU) 2016/425
Weight2,660-3,040 g (size dependent)
PowerRechargeable — up to 40 hours of runtime, four-hour full charge
After a deploymentReplacement gas cartridge fitted by a certified Tech-Air dealer
WornOver a jacket (Alpinestars states it can also be worn under one)

Notable. EN 1621-4 Level 2 chest and back; six sensors; 40-hour battery; over-jacket canvas vest

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Airbag with no electronicsOur score8.6

Hit-Air MLV2

The airbag with no battery, no app and no subscription. A coiled lanyard clips to the bike and a CO2 cartridge fires when you and the machine part company, inflating a bag that runs up the neck, down the spine and around the hips. It is the least expensive certified vest here, it weighs 1.4-1.6 kg, and you re-arm it yourself with a new cartridge.

Strengths

  • No electronics at all — nothing to charge, nothing to update, nothing to subscribe to
  • Hip and lower-back coverage that neither Tech-Air street vest publishes, plus neck and spine
  • Hit-Air publishes a declaration of conformity to EN 1621-4:2013 covering every MLV2 variant
  • 1.4 kg (S), 1.5 kg (M), 1.6 kg (L) published weights — lighter than any over-jacket electronic vest here
  • You replace the CO2 cartridge and repack the bag yourself using Hit-Air's own re-assembly instructions

Trade-offs

  • Hit-Air does not publish the EN 1621-4 attenuation Level on the model page or the declaration of conformity — certified, but there is no number to compare
  • A tether only fires when you separate from the bike: it cannot protect you in a crash where you stay on it, which an electronic system can
  • You have to remember to clip in — and forgetting to unclip before you dismount is the classic tethered-vest embarrassment
  • Three sizes only (S, M, L), against eight on the Tech-Air systems
DeploymentMechanical — coiled lanyard tethered to the bike; a 50 cc (S) or 60 cc (M/L) CO2 cartridge fires on separation
CoverageNeck, back, hips and sides (declaration of conformity lists chest, back and neck)
Airbag certificationEN 1621-4:2013 per Hit-Air's declaration of conformity (all MLV2 variants); attenuation Level not published
Weight1.4 kg (S), 1.5 kg (M), 1.6 kg (L)
PowerNone — no battery and no electronics
After a deploymentFit a new CO2 cartridge and repack the bag yourself, per Hit-Air's re-assembly instructions
WornOver a jacket or riding gear

Notable. Tethered CO2 airbag with neck, spine and hip coverage; no battery; user re-armed

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Slimmest Level 2 armorOur score8.4

Alpinestars Nucleon Flex Pro Vest

The slimmest way to get Level 2 on both the spine and the chest, and the only pick that publishes the temperature qualification: Alpinestars states EN 1621-2:2014 Level 2 back and EN 1621-3:2018 Level 2 chest, each marked T+ and T-, meaning the pads held their level when tested hot and cold rather than only at room temperature.

Strengths

  • Level 2 at both the back and the chest — the only pick here where every certified zone is Level 2
  • T+ and T- marking on both protectors: the level was met in high and low temperature testing, not just ambient
  • Divided chest protectors are removable, so it can be run as a back-protector vest alone
  • Soft-touch perforated mesh chassis with an adjustable elasticated waistband, cut to disappear under a jacket
  • Runs from XS, the smallest size range on this page

Trade-offs

  • No shoulder or elbow armor at all — those zones are left to whatever is in your jacket
  • Alpinestars publishes no weight for it
  • No EN 17092 garment class, so it adds nothing to abrasion protection
  • XS-XL only: no 2XL, unlike the Bionic Plus V2
Armor certificationEN 1621-2:2014 Level 2 back (T+ and T-); EN 1621-3:2018 Level 2 divided chest (T+ and T-)
Zones protectedBack and chest only
Garment classNot published
MaterialHybrid Cell and Nucleon Flex polymeric protectors on a soft-touch perforated mesh chassis
WeightNot published
SizesXS-XL
WornUnder a jacket

Notable. Level 2 back and Level 2 chest, both certified at high and low temperature (T+ / T-)

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Armor you will wear in summerOur score8.9

Klim Tactical Pro Armored Shirt

The only pick here whose garment is certified as well as its armor: Klim states a CE CU rating to EN 17092-6 on top of Level 2 chest and back pads and a Level 1 shoulder. That combination — plus a cooling four-way-stretch chassis you can wear as your outer layer in August — is what an armored base layer is supposed to be.

Strengths

  • Klim publishes the clause for every pad: Rogue CE Level 2 chest, Level 2 back and Level 1 shoulder
  • The only shirt here with a stated garment certification — "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6", the Class C impact-protector ensemble
  • Aggressor cooling fabric with brrrº mineral treatment and a moisture-wicking mesh chassis, so it works as a standalone summer layer
  • Armor is removable and the shirt is washable with the pads out
  • Soft rib protection in addition to the compression-molded panels

Trade-offs

  • Short sleeve, so there is no elbow armor — Klim's long-sleeve version adds a Level 1 elbow pad but is not sold on Amazon
  • Five sizes only (MD to 3X), with nothing below medium
  • Klim publishes no weight for this shirt anywhere we could fetch
  • Class C means the garment holds protectors — it is not abrasion-rated, so it does not replace a jacket
Armor certificationKlim Rogue CE Level 1 shoulder pad; Rogue CE Level 2 chest pad; Rogue CE Level 2 back pad (removable)
Zones protectedChest, back and shoulders; soft padding at the ribs
Garment classClass C — "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6" (no abrasion requirement)
Material4-way-stretch Klim Aggressor cooling fabric with brrrº technology over a moisture-wicking antimicrobial mesh chassis
WeightNot published
SizesMD-3X (five sizes)
WornStandalone summer shirt or under a jacket

Notable. Level 2 chest and back pads in a cooling stretch shirt that carries its own EN 17092-6 Class C garment certification

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is an airbag vest better than a back protector?

It covers more and it costs far more, and the two are certified under different standards so there is no single number that settles it. An airbag vest is tested to EN 1621-4:2013 and inflates around zones a pad cannot reach - chest, ribs, neck, sometimes hips. A back protector is tested to EN 1621-2:2014 and is a passive pad that is always working, needs no charge and cannot fail to deploy. The honest answer is that a certified back protector is the sane first purchase for most riders, and an airbag is the upgrade that genuinely adds something once you have one.

Can you compare EN 1621-4 Level 2 with EN 1621-2 Level 2?

No, and this is the single most common mistake in this comparison. They are different tests on different kinds of product: EN 1621-4 is the airbag standard, EN 1621-2 covers passive back protectors and EN 1621-3 covers chest protectors. A Level 2 in one is not equivalent to a Level 2 in another. The levels are only comparable within the same standard - which is why we rank airbags against airbags and armor against armor, on separate pages.

Do I need a back protector if I have an airbag vest?

Most airbag vests include one, which answers the question for you - the Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 Plasma, for example, publishes a passive EN 1621-2:2014 Level 1 back protector alongside its airbag. Check what your specific vest states. The one thing you should not do is assume the inflating bag has replaced the passive pad, because a tethered vest only fires when you separate from the bike and an electronic one fires when its sensors decide to.

How much does it cost to own an airbag vest?

More than the sticker, and the ongoing costs are the part nobody quotes at the till. An electronic vest needs charging - Alpinestars publishes up to 30 hours of ride time on the Tech-Air 5 Plasma and up to 40 hours with a four-hour charge on the Tech-Air 3 V2. After a deployment the gas has to be replaced: the Tech-Air 5 Plasma lets you do that yourself through a service cover where legally permitted, while the Tech-Air 3 V2 goes to a certified Tech-Air dealer. And Alpinestars certifies the Tech-Air 5 Plasma bag for up to six deployments before the whole airbag must be replaced. A tethered Hit-Air vest has no battery at all and you fit a new CO2 cartridge yourself. A passive back protector has no running cost whatsoever.

Do airbag vests work if you do not come off the bike?

It depends on how the vest is triggered, and this is the real difference between the two kinds of airbag. An electronic vest reads its own accelerometers and gyroscopes - the Tech-Air 3 V2 has six sensors - so it can fire in a crash where you stay on the machine. A tethered vest like the Hit-Air MLV2 fires when a lanyard clipped to the bike is pulled, which means it cannot protect you in an impact where you and the bike stay together. Hit-Air's advantage is that it needs no battery, no app and no dealer; that is the trade.

Does body armor replace a riding jacket?

No, and the certification says so explicitly. An armored base layer is certified under EN 17092-6 as Class C at best, which means the garment is an impact-protector holder with no abrasion requirement at all - Klim states this plainly for the Tactical Pro. Abrasion is what a jacket does. You need both: a jacket with an EN 17092 abrasion class for the slide, and certified armor for the impact. Our leather vs textile comparison covers the abrasion half of the problem.

What should I buy first if I can only afford one?

A certified back or chest protector, worn under the jacket you already own. It is a fraction of an airbag's price, it works every single time with nothing to charge or remember, and it covers the zone most riders are most worried about. The Alpinestars Nucleon Flex Pro Vest is the slim route to Level 2 on both the spine and the chest; the Klim Tactical Pro is the one you will still be wearing in August, which matters more than any spec sheet if the alternative is leaving it at home.

Sources

  • Alpinestars — Tech-Air 5 Plasma System — The maker's own spec page: EN 1621-4:2013 Level 1, chest/rib/back/shoulder coverage, 1,530 g, 30-hour battery and six certified deployments (accessed September 7, 2026)
  • Hit-Air — EN 1621-4 declaration of conformity — Mugen Denko's published declaration: which Hit-Air models are certified to EN 1621-4:2013 and which body zones they cover (accessed September 7, 2026)
  • Alpinestars — Nucleon Flex Pro Protection Vest — EN 1621-2:2014 Level 2 back and EN 1621-3:2018 Level 2 divided chest, both marked T+ and T- for high and low temperature testing (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Klim — Tactical Pro Armored SS Shirt — The maker's page for our top pick: Rogue CE Level 1 shoulder, Level 2 chest and Level 2 back pads, in a shirt with a "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6" (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Dainese — How do protection certifications work? — A maker's explainer of the CE levels: under EN 1621-4 the force transmitted to the body cannot exceed 4.5 kN for Level 1 or 2.5 kN for Level 2 (accessed September 7, 2026)
  • SATRA — EN 17092:2020 Parts 1-6, protective clothing for motorcycle riders — The test house's breakdown of the garment standard: "Class C garments are designed to provide impact protection for areas covered by the impact protector(s) only, and they do not offer minimum abrasion protection" (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • Helite Moto (US) — Turtle 2 airbag vest — A tethered airbag sold direct in the US rather than through Amazon: 100 ms inflation and cervical, back, pelvis, sacrum and thorax coverage (accessed September 7, 2026)
  • KLIM — Ai-1 Airbag Vest — The vest that shows the subscription model: $299.99 for the vest, with the In&box detection module on a $12/month or $120/year subscription or a $399 one-time purchase (accessed September 7, 2026)

Keep reading