The Lid Test

Klim Gear and Helmets: Is It Worth the Money?

Across seven products in six categories, Klim prints more of its own certification clauses than any other maker we track — classes, levels, standards and years. That is the reason to buy it, and the four places Klim goes quiet are the reason not to.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

Every gear brand has a sentence. Alpinestars’ is range; REV’IT!’s is the detail on the spec sheet; Joe Rocket’s is price. Klim’s is that it tells you. Across the seven Klim products in our registry, spanning a helmet, a jacket, a riding jean, three gloves and an armored shirt, Klim prints more of its own certification clauses than any of the other thirteen brands we track — and it is the only one that does it consistently rather than on its flagship.

That sounds like a small thing. It is the whole thing. This site cannot inspect stitching, has not crash-tested a jacket and owns none of this gear. What it can do is read what a maker commits to in writing, and a maker that prints the standard, the class, the level and the year has given you something to hold it to. A maker that prints “CE armor” has given you a marketing phrase.

What Klim actually publishes, product by product

Here is the evidence, read off the pages named on each card below.

The Carlsbad jacket:“CE AA rating certified to EN 17092-3” — a full abrasion class above the Class A most textile jackets settle for — plus KLIM Rogue CE Level 2 armor at the shoulders, elbows and back, all three included rather than sold as pocket filler.

The Vanguard GTX Short glove:“CE CERTIFIED TO EN13594:2015, KP LEVEL 1”. That is the standard, the year, the level and the knuckle-protection mark in one line. Of every glove in our registry, across six separate glove rankings, this is the most complete certification sentence any maker prints.

The Tactical Pro armored shirt: the level of each individual pad — Rogue CE Level 2 chest, Level 2 back, Level 1 shoulder — plus a garment certification on top: “CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6”, the Class C impact-protector ensemble. It is the only armored base layer we rank whose garment is certified as well as its armor.

The K Fifty 2 riding jean: CE AA to EN 17092-3, on denim. Most riding jeans are Class A and the ones that are not usually do not say.

The Induction summer glove:“CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594” on a fully vented glove, which is rare enough that it is the top pick on our summer gloves ranking on that basis alone.

The Krios Pro helmet: DOT and ECE 22.06, Koroyd structure, and — the detail that gives the game away — a published weight of 1,450 g in size Large. Nearly every helmet weight in our registry is a bare number with no reference size, which makes it almost useless for comparison on a multi-shell helmet. Klim states the size.

The Badlands GTX Long gauntlet:“CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594”, plus the insulation figure in grams and where it is — 60 g of 3M Thinsulate, backhand only, palm unlined for feel. Publishing an insulation number and admitting it is the lowest of your certified range is not a normal marketing decision.

Where Klim goes quiet, which matters just as much

A brand page that only lists what a maker does well is an advertisement. Four gaps run through Klim’s material consistently enough to be a pattern rather than an oversight.

Weight. Klim publishes no weight for the Carlsbad, the Tactical Pro shirt, the Vanguard glove or the Badlands glove on any page we could fetch. For a brand this precise about certification, the silence on mass is striking — and it is the spec you notice most on a hot day.

The EN 1621 armor clause. Klim prints “CE Level 2” for the Carlsbad’s Rogue pads and names the D3O Evo pads in the K Fifty 2, but does not state the EN 1621-1 level on either page. It gives the garment standard in full and the armor standard not at all, which is an odd asymmetry from the maker that otherwise sets the bar.

Inconsistency between products. The Vanguard glove gets “EN13594:2015”; the Badlands glove, from the same category and the same catalog, gets “EN 13594” with no year. Same maker, same season, two different levels of specificity.

Price, stated plainly. In four of our rankings, the Klim pick is the most expensive item on the page — the Carlsbad on all-season jackets, the K Fifty 2 on pants, the Badlands on winter gloves, the Krios Pro among the adventure helmets. Being the most transparent maker does not make it the best value, and on the pants page specifically a cheaper jean carries the identical CE AA class.

The subscription, because you should hear it here

Klim sells an airbag vest, the Ai-1, that we deliberately do not rank. The reason is on Klim’s own product page: the vest is $299.99, and the In&box detection module that makes it function is a $12-per-month or $120-per-year subscription, or $399 as a one-time purchase. A protective garment that stops protecting you if a payment lapses is a different category of product from a jacket, and we are not comfortable ranking it alongside vests that have no ongoing fee. The airbag vests we do rank publish no subscription, and the mechanical option on that page needs no electronics at all.

So: is it worth it?

Buy Klim for the construction, not the brand. The specific thing the money reliably buys is how the waterproofing is built in — a GORE-TEX Performance Shell laminated into the outer jacket rather than hung behind it, and GORE-TEX bonded to the glove shell with GORE Grip, which Gore itself describes as eliminating “friction and movement between layers.” Those are constructions, not materials, and they are the difference between staying dry and wearing a wet jacket that happens not to leak. If you ride in genuine rain, that is worth money.

Do not buy Klim for the abrasion class alone. CE AA is CE AA. If the class is what you are shopping for, read the CE armor guide, find the cheapest garment that publishes the class you want, and spend the difference on the piece of your kit that is currently uncertified. In our experience of reading these spec sheets, that piece is almost always your legs — which is the argument in what ATGATT actually means, and the reason the K Fifty 2 is on this page at all.

We own none of this gear and have ridden in none of it. Here is exactly what we do instead. Every spec below is read from the page named on each product card, on the date recorded there, and prices come from the live layer with their own date stamp.

Every Klim product we list, with live prices

Seven products across six categories — a helmet, a jacket, a riding jean, three gloves and an armored shirt. Each one is the same registry entry used in our category rankings, read from the page named on its card on the date recorded there. Prices are live and dated on each button.

#1The helmetOur score9.1

Klim Krios Pro

The benchmark ADV lid for a reason: a full carbon shell at a published 1,450 g in Large makes it one of the lightest adventure helmets made, and it reconfigures for street, adventure, dual-sport or dirt without buying a second helmet.

Strengths

  • Full carbon shell — 1,450 g in Large is remarkably light for an ADV helmet with a peak
  • DOT and ECE 22.06, plus Koroyd energy-absorbing structure
  • Four ride modes (street, ADV, dual-sport, dirt) and a photochromic shield included

Trade-offs

  • Premium price — you're paying for carbon and versatility
  • No internal sun visor (the photochromic shield does that job instead)
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.06
Weight1450 g
ShellFull carbon fiber (hand-laid)
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-3XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyNo

Notable. Koroyd construction; four ride modes; photochromic shield; goggle-compatible

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2The jacketOur score9.0

Klim Carlsbad

The most complete three-season jacket we could source: a CE AA garment certified to EN 17092-3, KLIM Rogue CE Level 2 armor at the shoulders, elbows AND back already in the box, and the GORE-TEX waterproofing built into the shell instead of hung behind it. What it leaves out is a thermal liner, so cold mornings are handled by what you wear underneath.

Strengths

  • CE AA rating certified to EN 17092-3, one class above the Class A jackets on this page
  • KLIM Rogue CE Level 2 armor included at the shoulders, elbows and back, so there is no protector left to buy
  • GORE-TEX Performance Shell that Klim guarantees to keep you dry, with the waterproofing in the outer jacket rather than a separate liner
  • Six vents: two double-headed forearm vents, two chest vents and two offset back exhaust vents

Trade-offs

  • No thermal liner in Klim's feature list, so its cold-weather range depends on the layers you already own
  • The most expensive jacket on this page
  • Klim prints CE Level 2 for the armor but not the EN 1621 clause, and publishes no weight
  • Sizes run SM to 3X only
MaterialGORE-TEX Performance Shell; FPL400 main chassis fabric with 630D CORDURA twisted-yarn overlays on the shoulders and elbows
ArmorKLIM Rogue CE Level 2 shoulder, elbow and back pads (all included); garment CE AA to EN 17092-3
WaterproofYes
Best forRiders in wet climates who want AA certification and full Level 2 armor without a liner system to manage

Notable. GORE-TEX shell, CE AA garment and Level 2 armor at shoulders, elbows and back from the box

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 16, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The riding jeanOur score8.8

Klim K Fifty 2

The riding jean that stops being a compromise. Klim certifies the K Fifty 2 to CE AA under EN 17092-3 — the middle abrasion class, not the Class A most textile pants settle for — and ships D3O Evo knee and hip armor plus a Poron XRD tailbone pad in the box. It is a straight-leg Cordura denim you can wear into a restaurant, which is the entire point of a riding jean.

Strengths

  • CE AA rated to EN 17092-3 — a full abrasion class above the Class A that most textile riding pants carry
  • D3O Evo knee and hip armor included, plus a Poron XRD tailbone pad almost no riding jean bothers with
  • Cordura denim partially lined with 100% Kevlar panels, in a straight jean cut with flat-felled seams and YKK zippers
  • Regular waists 30-42 plus a genuine tall run (32, 34, 36, 38), which is rare in this category

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive jean here, and the Rogue Level 1 / Level 2 armor upgrade costs more again
  • Klim names the D3O Evo pads but does not publish their EN 1621-1 level on this page — only the AA garment class
  • Denim with a Kevlar lining and no membrane: not waterproof, and warm in summer traffic
MaterialCordura denim (nylon/cotton blend), partially lined with 100% Kevlar panels
ArmorD3O Evo knee + hip (included); Poron XRD tailbone pad; garment CE AA, EN 17092-3
WaterproofNo
Best forRiders who want everyday jeans with certified abrasion protection and armor already fitted

Notable. CE AA denim; D3O Evo knee and hip armor in the box; Poron XRD tailbone pad; regular and tall inseams

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on August 24, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4The three-season gloveOur score9.1

Klim Vanguard GTX Short

The only glove here that Klim describes as built for the touring rider specifically, and the spec sheet backs the claim: GORE-TEX bonded to the shell rather than hung inside it, a goat leather palm, and deliberately neither venting nor insulation so it works across a wide temperature band instead of a narrow one.

Strengths

  • Klim prints the clause in full: "CE CERTIFIED TO EN13594:2015, KP LEVEL 1"
  • GORE-TEX + GORE GRIP bonds the membrane to the shell, so it cannot slide against the leather the way a loose liner can
  • Klim calls it "temperature neutral" with "neither venting nor insulation" — the design choice that makes it a three-season glove rather than a summer or winter one
  • Velcro-plus-YKK-zipper dual-entry short cuff, index-finger visor wiper and Mult-E-Touch pads

Trade-offs

  • Short under-cuff design, so it goes under the jacket sleeve and will not seal out rain running down the arm
  • No insulation at all — below roughly freezing this is the wrong glove and a winter glove is the right one
  • Klim publishes no weight for it
  • Premium money for a glove with no gadgets
MaterialGoat leather palm and fingers over a bonded GORE-TEX + GORE GRIP construction
ArmorCE certified to EN 13594:2015, KP Level 1; semi-pliable rubber and foam knuckle protector with 5 mm XRD impact foam in the palm and knuckle pads
WaterproofYes
Best forTourers who want one waterproof glove for most of the riding year and value feel on the bars

Notable. GORE-TEX + GORE GRIP bonded construction; "neither venting nor insulation" by design; Velcro + YKK dual-entry short cuff; index-finger visor wiper; XS-3XL

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5The cold-weather gauntletOur score9.0

Klim Badlands GTX Long

The most complete cold-weather build we could source: a CE Level 1 KP glove to EN 13594 with a GORE-TEX membrane bonded to the shell by GORE Grip, so the layers do not slip on the bars. Klim insulates only the back of the hand, with 60 g of 3M Thinsulate, and leaves the palm unlined for feel — which makes it the least insulated of the certified picks and a glove that relies on heated grips in real cold.

Strengths

  • CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594, per Klim's product page
  • GORE-TEX with GORE Grip Technology, backed by Gore's "Guaranteed to keep you dry" promise; the membrane is bonded rather than free-floating
  • Polycarbonate knuckle guard over XRD impact foam, with ceramic-print fabric at the knuckles, palm pad and forearm
  • Dual visor wipers (left for water, right for ice), Mult-E-Touch touchscreen pads and a neoprene gasket inside the gauntlet
  • Sizes XS to 3XL

Trade-offs

  • Only 60 g of Thinsulate, on the backhand only — the least published insulation of the certified gloves on this page
  • The most expensive glove here
  • Klim prints the CE level but not the EN 13594 year, and publishes no weight
MaterialGoat leather with ceramic-print fabric; GORE-TEX + GORE Grip membrane
ArmorCE Level 1 KP (EN 13594); polycarbonate knuckle guard with XRD impact foam
WaterproofYes
Best forAdventure and touring riders who want a four-season waterproof gauntlet and run heated grips

Notable. GORE-TEX bonded to the shell (GORE Grip), 60 g Thinsulate backhand, dual visor wipers

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6The summer gloveOur score8.5

Klim Induction

The hot-weather half of a touring glove drawer, and the only pick here with a carbon-fiber hard knuckle. A mesh backhand and mapped perforations move real air, the aramid-reinforced palm pad is the most specific abrasion claim on the page, and Klim still prints the EN 13594 clause. It is not waterproof, and does not pretend to be.

Strengths

  • "CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594" in a fully vented glove, which is unusual
  • Carbon-fiber hard knuckle protector plus 5 mm XRD impact foam in the palm and knuckle pads
  • Aramid-reinforced Schoeller fabric palm pad overlay — the most specific abrasion claim any maker makes on this page
  • Mesh backhand with mapped perforations, premium goat leather chassis and Mult-E-Touch pads

Trade-offs

  • No membrane at all: RevZilla's listing publishes no waterproofing, so this is a dry-weather glove
  • Mesh and perforations are not reversible — it is cold at highway speed once the temperature drops into the fifties
  • RevZilla publishes no cuff description and no visor wiper for it
  • Costs within a few dollars of the waterproof picks here while doing one job instead of two
MaterialPremium goat leather with a mesh backhand and mapped perforations
ArmorCE Level 1 KP certified to EN 13594; carbon-fiber hard knuckle protector, 5 mm XRD impact foam in palm and knuckle pads, aramid-reinforced Schoeller fabric palm pad overlay
WaterproofNo
Best forSummer touring and hot-climate riders who want a certified vented glove and will carry a waterproof pair for the rain

Notable. Mesh backhand with mapped perforations; carbon-fiber hard knuckle; aramid-reinforced Schoeller palm pad; Mult-E-Touch; XS-3XL

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#7The armored base layerOur score8.9

Klim Tactical Pro Armored Shirt

The only pick here whose garment is certified as well as its armor: Klim states a CE CU rating to EN 17092-6 on top of Level 2 chest and back pads and a Level 1 shoulder. That combination — plus a cooling four-way-stretch chassis you can wear as your outer layer in August — is what an armored base layer is supposed to be.

Strengths

  • Klim publishes the clause for every pad: Rogue CE Level 2 chest, Level 2 back and Level 1 shoulder
  • The only shirt here with a stated garment certification — "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6", the Class C impact-protector ensemble
  • Aggressor cooling fabric with brrrº mineral treatment and a moisture-wicking mesh chassis, so it works as a standalone summer layer
  • Armor is removable and the shirt is washable with the pads out
  • Soft rib protection in addition to the compression-molded panels

Trade-offs

  • Short sleeve, so there is no elbow armor — Klim's long-sleeve version adds a Level 1 elbow pad but is not sold on Amazon
  • Five sizes only (MD to 3X), with nothing below medium
  • Klim publishes no weight for this shirt anywhere we could fetch
  • Class C means the garment holds protectors — it is not abrasion-rated, so it does not replace a jacket
Armor certificationKlim Rogue CE Level 1 shoulder pad; Rogue CE Level 2 chest pad; Rogue CE Level 2 back pad (removable)
Zones protectedChest, back and shoulders; soft padding at the ribs
Garment classClass C — "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6" (no abrasion requirement)
Material4-way-stretch Klim Aggressor cooling fabric with brrrº technology over a moisture-wicking antimicrobial mesh chassis
WeightNot published
SizesMD-3X (five sizes)
WornStandalone summer shirt or under a jacket

Notable. Level 2 chest and back pads in a cooling stretch shirt that carries its own EN 17092-6 Class C garment certification

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is Klim a good brand?

On the one axis this site can actually measure — how completely a maker publishes its own certifications — Klim is the best of the fourteen brands in our registry. It prints the EN 17092 abrasion class for its garments, the EN 13594 level for its gloves (with the 2015 year on one of them, which almost nobody does), and the CE level of each individual armor pad rather than a blanket 'CE armor' line. That is not a quality claim about stitching we have not inspected. It is a claim about transparency, and transparency is the thing that lets you check a purchase instead of trusting a brand.

Is Klim gear worth the money?

It is worth it when you are buying the thing Klim is specifically best at, and it is not when you are not. Worth it: a GORE-TEX membrane laminated or bonded into the garment rather than hung behind it, which is what the Carlsbad jacket and both GORE-TEX gloves give you, and which is the construction that decides whether you are dry in hour three. Not worth it: the abrasion class alone. The Scorpion EXO Covert Pro II riding jean we list carries the same CE AA class as Klim's K Fifty 2 for meaningfully less money. Buy the construction, not the badge.

Are Klim helmets any good?

We list one, the Krios Pro, and it is the benchmark adventure helmet for defensible reasons: a hand-laid full carbon shell at a published 1,450 g in size Large — Klim states the reference size, which most makers do not — plus DOT and ECE 22.06, Koroyd energy-absorbing structure, four ride configurations and a photochromic shield in the box. What it does not have is a Snell rating or an internal sun visor. If a current Snell rating is non-negotiable, the Arai XD-5 and Shoei Hornet X2 are the adventure helmets that carry one.

Does Klim use real GORE-TEX?

Yes, and it uses two different GORE constructions rather than one. The Carlsbad jacket is a GORE-TEX Performance Shell, meaning the membrane is laminated into the outer shell so there is no separate outer fabric to soak through in front of it. Both GORE-TEX gloves use GORE-TEX with GORE Grip Technology, which Gore describes as bonding 'the usual loose layers within gloves' so that friction and movement between layers is eliminated — the reason a wet Klim glove does not feel like it is turning on your hand at the lever. The Induction summer glove has no membrane at all, by design.

What does Klim not publish?

Four things, consistently. Weight: Klim publishes no weight for the Carlsbad jacket, the Tactical Pro shirt or either GORE-TEX glove anywhere we could fetch. The EN 1621 armor clause: it prints 'CE Level 2' for the Carlsbad's Rogue pads and names the D3O Evo pads in the K Fifty 2 without stating their EN 1621-1 level. The EN 13594 year on the Badlands glove, where it prints the level but not the year — notable because it does print the full year on the Vanguard. And size range at the bottom end: the Tactical Pro shirt is MD-3X with nothing below medium.

What is the best Klim product to buy first?

If you ride in rain, the Carlsbad jacket — it is the only garment we rank that combines a laminated GORE-TEX shell, a CE AA garment class and Level 2 armor at the shoulders, elbows and back already in the box, so there is no protector left to buy. If you are buying one Klim item to see what the fuss is about, buy the Vanguard GTX Short glove instead: it is a fraction of the jacket's price, it is the item where Klim prints its certification most completely ('CE CERTIFIED TO EN13594:2015, KP LEVEL 1'), and the bonded GORE GRIP construction is the brand's engineering argument in a thing you can hold.

Does Klim charge a subscription for anything?

For the Ai-1 airbag vest, yes — and it is worth knowing before you shop the brand. Klim prices the Ai-1 vest itself at $299.99 and puts the In&box detection module that makes it function on a $12 per month or $120 per year subscription, or a $399 one-time purchase. We do not rank the Ai-1 for exactly that reason and because we have not completed its spec sourcing. None of the seven Klim products on this page carries any ongoing fee; neither does the Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 Plasma we rank on our airbag page, which publishes no subscription at all.

Klim or Alpinestars?

They are strongest at different things, on the specs each publishes. Klim publishes more complete certification clauses and builds its waterproofing in as a laminate or a bonded glove membrane. Alpinestars has far more range — it is the only maker in our registry with products in every gear category we cover, from base layers to airbags to boots — and it publishes actual membrane performance figures for Drystar on some items, such as a 5,000 mm water column and 5,000 g/m² breathability on one glove. Alpinestars also publishes CE Level 2 for its cheaper over-jacket airbag where Klim's vest needs a subscription to work. For rain, Klim. For a whole wardrobe from one maker, Alpinestars.

Sources

  • KLIM — The Idaho adventure-gear maker behind the Krios Pro helmet, the GORE-TEX jackets and gloves and the K Fifty 2 riding jean — and the maker that prints the most complete certification clauses of anyone we track (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Klim — Carlsbad Jacket (current, fourth generation) — Our top pick: "GORE-TEX PERFORMANCE SHELL", "CE AA rating certified to EN 17092-3", KLIM Rogue CE Level 2 shoulder, elbow and back pads, six listed vents — and no thermal liner in the feature list (accessed September 16, 2026)
  • Klim — Vanguard GTX Short Glove — The top pick's own maker page: "CE CERTIFIED TO EN13594:2015, KP LEVEL 1", "GORE-TEX + GORE GRIP TECHNOLOGY", "GOAT LEATHER PALM AND FINGERS", "5MM XRD IMPACT PROTECTION FOAM IN PALM AND KNUCKLE PADS", "VELCRO + ZIPPER DUAL-ENTRY CUFF SYSTEM", "UNDER CUFF SHORT DESIGN", "INDEX FINGER VISOR WIPER" — and the line the whole ranking turns on: "Designed specifically for the touring rider, with neither venting nor insulation, these temperature neutral gloves maintain comfort across a wide range of conditions". No weight published (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • Klim — Badlands GTX Long Glove — Our top pick: "CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594", "GORE-TEX + GORE Grip Technology", "60 Grams 3M Thinsulate insulation on backhand", polycarbonate knuckle guard with XRD foam, dual visor wipers, sizes XS-3XL — no EN 13594 year and no weight published (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • Klim — Tactical Pro Armored SS Shirt — The maker's page for our top pick: Rogue CE Level 1 shoulder, Level 2 chest and Level 2 back pads, in a shirt with a "CE CU rating certified to EN 17092-6" (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • KLIM — Ai-1 Airbag Vest — The vest that shows the subscription model: $299.99 for the vest, with the In&box detection module on a $12/month or $120/year subscription or a $399 one-time purchase (accessed September 7, 2026)
  • RevZilla — Klim Induction Gloves (US) — The vented pick: "CE Level 1 KP rating certified to EN 13594" with "Premium goat leather construction", a "Mesh backhand", "Mapped perforations for airflow and abrasion protection", a "Carbon fiber hard knuckle protector", "5mm XRD impact protection foam in palm and knuckle pads" and an "Aramid-reinforced Schoeller fabric palm pad overlay", sizes XS-3XL. No waterproofing published anywhere on the listing (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • GORE-TEX — Grip gloves technology — Gore's own description of a bonded glove membrane: "The usual loose layers within gloves are tightly bonded together for a layered construction that eliminates friction and movement between layers" (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • SATRA — EN 17092:2020 Parts 1-6, protective clothing for motorcycle riders — The test house's breakdown of the garment standard: "Class C garments are designed to provide impact protection for areas covered by the impact protector(s) only, and they do not offer minimum abrasion protection" (accessed September 10, 2026)
  • SATRA — EN 13594:2015, protective gloves for motorcycle riders — The test house's summary of the glove standard: "Level 1 for gloves designed to give protection while having low ergonomic penalties, and level 2 for gloves providing greater protection than level 1"; knuckle impact protection "is an optional feature for level 1 gloves" and mandatory for level 2; minimum cuff length 5 mm (Level 1) or 50 mm (Level 2) from the wrist line (accessed September 21, 2026)
  • UNECE — Vehicle Regulations — The UN body behind ECE Regulation 22.06, the European helmet standard (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • NHTSA — Motorcycle Safety — The US regulator behind the DOT FMVSS 218 helmet standard (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading