The Lid Test

Cardo Packtalk Edge vs Neo

Two units, one set of internals. Cardo publishes the same mesh generation, the same 31-rider cap, the same 40 mm JBL speakers, the same Bluetooth, the same range and the same IP67 rating for both — so the whole decision comes down to a magnet, a warranty, and what the two actually cost on the day you look.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

This is one of the most-searched comparisons in motorcycle comms, and it has an unusually clean answer: the two units are the same intercom. Not similar, not closely related — on everything Cardo publishes about what the hardware does, they are identical. The Edge’s extra money buys a mount and a warranty.

That sounds like it should make the decision easy, and it almost does. The complication is price, and it has moved since both units launched.

What Cardo publishes for both, side by side

Read on Cardo’s own product pages on October 7, 2026. Every row where the two agree is a row where there is nothing to decide.

 Packtalk EdgePacktalk Neo
Mount“Air Mount. Patented magnetic mount.”“Clickable mounting”
Warranty“Extended 3-year warranty”“2-year warranty”
Mesh2nd Generation DMC2nd Generation DMC
Max ridersUp to 31Up to 31
RangeUp to 1.6 km / 1 mileUp to 1.6 km / 1 mile
Speakers40 mm Sound by JBL40 mm Sound by JBL
Bluetooth5.25.2
Water resistanceIP67IP67
Voice controlNatural Voice OperationNatural Voice Operation
ChargingUSB-C; 2 hours of talk time from 20 minutes of chargeUSB-C; 2 hours of talk time from 20 minutes of charge

Eight of ten rows are identical. That is the comparison.

The mount, which is the only real feature difference

Cardo describes the Edge’s cradle as “Air Mount. Patented magnetic mount. Simple and secure.” The Neo gets “clickable mounting” — a conventional bracket the unit slides and latches into.

The difference is not performance, it is handling. A magnetic cradle means the unit lands and holds without you lining up a slot, and it comes off with one gloved hand without a thumb on a release catch. If that sounds trivial, it is worth asking how many times you will do it. A rider who owns one helmet and leaves the unit on it will do it a handful of times a year and should not pay for the magnet. A rider who moves one unit between two helmets, or who takes it off at every stop because they would rather not leave electronics on a parked bike, will do it several hundred times a year — and that is a genuine feature.

One caution worth stating plainly: a magnetic mount is a mount, not a safety feature. Both units are held to the helmet by the same kind of clamp-or-adhesive base plate, and neither Cardo page claims anything about the magnet beyond convenience. Do not let it carry more weight in your decision than it deserves.

The warranty, which almost nobody mentions

The Edge carries what Cardo calls an “extended 3-year warranty”; the Neo carries a “2-year warranty.” On a battery-powered device that lives outdoors, gets rained on, and is charged a few hundred times, a third year of coverage is not a throwaway difference — it is roughly the point at which lithium-ion packs in hard-used electronics start to be the reason a unit gets replaced.

We mention it because it is the part of this comparison that gets left out everywhere, and because it changes how the pricing should be read. The extra money on the Edge is not purely a magnet; it is a magnet plus a year.

The price, and why the usual advice is now out of date

Both units were launched with a clear gap between them, and Cardo’s own list prices still reflect it: the Edge sits above the Neo on Cardo’s site. The standing advice that follows from those numbers — buy the Neo, save the money, accept the clamp — was correct at launch.

It is no longer reliably correct. On our check date, the two were trading within a few dollars of each otherat the retailer we link, with the Neo occasionally the more expensive of the two. That inversion happens when a product is deep into its life, stock is uneven across colors and bundles, and discounting stops tracking list price. We are not going to print either figure here, because a price we quote today is wrong tomorrow — that is why the live number sits on the buy button and nowhere else, and why our method page commits to it.

What that means practically: check both buttons, and buy the Neo only if it is actually cheaper by enough to matter. If the gap is small, the Edge is the better purchase on its own spec sheet — same mesh, same audio, better mount, extra year of warranty. A reader who bought the Neo on 2023’s advice without looking at today’s price would, on our check date, have paid more for less.

What neither of them is

Both units sit below the Packtalk Proin Cardo’s current range, which adds crash detection, Auto On/Off and larger 45 mm JBL speakers. If you specifically want crash detection, neither the Edge nor the Neo has it and no firmware update will add it. If you do not, the Pro’s mesh is the same second-generation DMC these two already run, and the money is better spent on the helmet it mounts to. Our Cardo lineup guide maps the whole range.

And neither is the right answer if you mostly ride alone or in a pair. Mesh exists to hold a group together without re-pairing, and if your group is you, a considerably cheaper Bluetooth unit does everything you need — our Bluetooth vs mesh guide makes that case properly, and our intercom ranking has the units that serve it.

The verdict

If the two are close in price, buy the Packtalk Edge. If the Neo is clearly cheaper, buy the Neo and do not feel you compromised. You get the identical mesh network, the identical 40 mm JBL speakers, the identical IP67 housing, the identical Bluetooth 5.2 and the identical fast charging either way. What separates them is a magnetic cradle and a year of warranty, and whether those are worth the difference is a question only the current prices can answer. That is an unsatisfying conclusion to a comparison article and it happens to be the true one.

If you are setting up comms for the first time, the unit is the easy half. Read our intercom setup guide before you start cutting into a helmet liner, and if you are still choosing the helmet, the lids in our Bluetooth helmet ranking are the ones with the speaker pockets already cut.

Both units, with live prices

Check both buttons before you decide. Cardo lists the Edge above the Neo, but the two have been trading within a few dollars of each other at retail — and if the Neo is not cheaper on the day you look, the Edge is the better buy on its own spec sheet. Both cards read from the same registry, so the specs cannot disagree with the table above.

#1Buy this one if the price gap is smallOur score9.2

Cardo Packtalk Edge

The mesh intercom most groups converge on. Second-generation DMC mesh keeps a 31-rider group connected without re-pairing, JBL speakers handle audio, and the Air Mount magnetic bracket is the best mounting system in the category. IP67 and voice-operated.

Strengths

  • 2nd-gen DMC mesh auto-manages a group of up to 31 riders — no manual re-pairing, since Cardo's free Mesh Boost update raised the DMC cap from 15
  • 40 mm JBL speakers and 'Hey Cardo' natural-voice control
  • Air Mount magnetic bracket and IP67 water resistance

Trade-offs

  • No longer Cardo's outright flagship — the Packtalk Pro sits above it with crash detection, Auto On/Off and larger 45 mm JBL speakers
  • ~13 hours battery is fine for a day but not multi-day without charging
ConnectivityMesh + Bluetooth
Range (bike to bike)1 mile (bike to bike)
Max riders (intercom)31
Talk time13 hours
Water resistanceIP67
SpeakersJBL

Notable. Air Mount magnetic mount; 2nd-gen DMC mesh; 'Hey Cardo' natural voice

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Buy this one only if it is genuinely cheaperOur score8.9

Cardo Packtalk Neo

The Edge's mesh brain in a slightly cheaper package: the same 2nd-gen DMC mesh, JBL sound, 31-rider groups and IP67 rating, on a traditional clamp mount instead of the magnetic Air Mount. If you don't need the magnet, it's the value mesh pick.

Strengths

  • Identical 2nd-gen DMC mesh and JBL speakers to the Edge
  • 31-rider groups after Cardo's free Mesh Boost update, 1-mile range, IP67, natural-voice control
  • Costs less than the Edge by skipping the Air Mount magnet

Trade-offs

  • Traditional clamp mount, not the magnetic Air Mount
  • Still premium money versus a simple Bluetooth headset
ConnectivityMesh + Bluetooth
Range (bike to bike)1 mile (bike to bike)
Max riders (intercom)31
Talk time13 hours
Water resistanceIP67
SpeakersJBL

Notable. 2nd-gen DMC mesh; JBL speakers; clamp mount; IP67

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the actual difference between the Cardo Packtalk Edge and the Neo?

On Cardo's own published specs, three things: the mount, the warranty and the list price. The Edge uses what Cardo calls 'Air Mount. Patented magnetic mount.'; the Neo uses 'clickable mounting'. The Edge carries an 'extended 3-year warranty', the Neo a '2-year warranty'. And Cardo lists the Edge higher. Everything else Cardo publishes is identical: 2nd Generation DMC, up to 31 riders, Bluetooth 5.2, 1.6 km range, 40 mm Sound by JBL speakers, IP67 waterproof, Natural Voice Operation, and USB-C fast charging giving two hours of talk time from twenty minutes on the cable.

Is the Air Mount worth the extra money?

It depends entirely on how many helmets you own and how often the unit comes off. The Air Mount is a magnetic cradle: the unit snaps on and pulls off with one gloved hand and there is no slot to line up. If you move one unit between a summer helmet and a winter helmet, or you take it indoors after every ride, that is a daily convenience you will notice for years. If the unit goes on one helmet and stays there, you are paying for a feature you will use twice.

Do the Edge and Neo have the same mesh?

Yes. Cardo publishes '2nd Generation DMC' and 'Connect up to 31 riders' for both units, and the 31-rider figure reflects Cardo's Mesh Boost firmware update, which raised the DMC group cap from the number printed on older packaging. Range is published identically at up to 1.6 km bike to bike on both. There is no mesh feature on the Edge that the Neo lacks.

Do they sound the same?

Cardo publishes '40mm Sound by JBL speakers' for both, so on the spec sheet yes. Audio differences between the two are not something either page claims. If speaker size and brand are what you are shopping for, this comparison does not separate them — our helmet speakers ranking covers which comms kits publish named audio hardware at all.

Which one should I buy?

Buy the Neo if it is meaningfully cheaper on the day you look, because you are giving up only a magnetic cradle and a year of warranty. Buy the Edge if the gap is small — and it has been small at retail, despite Cardo listing the Edge higher — because at that point you are getting a better mount and an extra year of coverage for very little. The one thing not to do is assume the Neo is the value option without checking: that was true when both launched and it is not reliably true now.

Should I buy the Packtalk Pro instead?

Only if you want the two things it adds: crash detection and larger 45 mm JBL speakers, plus Auto On/Off. The Pro sits above both units in Cardo's range and costs accordingly. If what you want is mesh that works with a big group, the Edge and Neo already have the same mesh the Pro does, and the money is better spent elsewhere — on a helmet with speaker pockets, for instance, which changes the install more than any of these units do.

Will an Edge and a Neo talk to each other?

Yes, natively and at full capability. They run the same second-generation DMC mesh, so a group mixing Edges and Neos is one mesh network with no compromise and no universal-mode fallback. That only becomes a problem across brands — a Cardo and a Sena in the same group drop to a more basic Bluetooth mode, which our dedicated guide covers.

Sources

  • Cardo Systems - Packtalk Edge — Re-read for the Edge vs Neo comparison: "Air Mount. Patented magnetic mount. Simple and secure.", "40mm Sound by JBL speakers", "2nd Generation DMC", "Connect up to 31 riders", "Bluetooth 5.2", "Range of up to 1.6km/1 mi", "IP67 Waterproof", "Natural Voice Operation", a "robust USB Type-C port" with "2 hours of talk time after 20 minutes of charge", an "extended 3-year warranty" and a listed price of $439.95 (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • Cardo Systems - Packtalk Neo — The other half of the comparison, read the same day: "clickable mounting", and then the same "40mm Sound by JBL speakers", "2nd Generation DMC", "Connect up to 31 riders", "Bluetooth 5.2", "Range of up to 1.6km/1 mi", "IP67 Waterproof", "Natural Voice Operation" and "Fast Charging (2 hours talk time after 20 minutes of charging)" over USB-C as the Edge - but a "2-year warranty" and a listed price of $359.95 (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • Cardo Systems — Cardo's official site — Packtalk mesh intercom specifications (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading