The Lid Test

ECE 22.06 vs 22.05: What Actually Changed

ECE 22.05 ran for roughly two decades. The 22.06 revision that replaced it added oblique rotational impact testing, widened where the shell gets hit, and brought visors and accessories into the approval. Here is the change list, and what it means for a helmet still wearing a 22.05 label.

By Stephen V.Last verified How we compare

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which helmet we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when a cheaper or lighter one is the better buy. Full disclosure.

Short answer: ECE 22.06 added oblique impact testing that measures rotational acceleration, widened where the shell is struck, tested at more than one impact speed, and brought visors, sun visors and accessories into the helmet’s approval. If you are choosing between two comparable helmets, take the 22.06 one. If you already own a well-fitting 22.05 helmet inside its service life, keep wearing it — 22.05 was a real type approval, not a loophole.

The reason this matters more than a version number suggests is that 22.05 ran for about two decades. Helmet construction, materials and the understanding of brain injury all moved on considerably in that time, and 22.06 is the first revision to reflect it.

What ECE actually is, in one paragraph

ECE Regulation 22 is a UN vehicle regulation administered through UNECE, and the thing that distinguishes it from the US system is when the checking happens. ECE is type approval: an appointed authority tests samples beforethe helmet can be sold, and issues an approval number that gets sewn into the chin strap. DOT FMVSS 218, by contrast, is self-certified — the manufacturer declares compliance and NHTSA buys helmets off shelves afterwards for random compliance testing. Our helmet safety ratings guide covers all three systems side by side.

The change list

These are the substantive differences between the two revisions.

AreaECE 22.05ECE 22.06
Oblique / rotational impactNot testedTested — angled impacts measuring rotational acceleration
Impact points on the shellA fixed set of defined pointsMore points, including positions chosen by the test house
Impact speedsA single defined speedMultiple speeds, including a low-speed test
Visor and sun visorLargely assessed separatelyBrought into the helmet’s own approval
Accessories (comms, cameras)Outside the approvalIn scope — the helmet is approved with them
Modular positionsHandled inconsistentlyExplicit P (closed) and J (open) homologation
Size-range testingRepresentative samplesBroader sampling across the size run

The one that matters most: oblique impacts

If you read one row of that table, read the first.

Under 22.05, impact testing was essentially linear: drop the helmet onto an anvil and measure the deceleration straight through the head. Real crashes are rarely like that. A rider hits a road surface at an angle, the helmet catches, and the head rotates. Rotational accelerationis the mechanism behind a large share of serious brain injury — diffuse axonal injury in particular — and a test that only measures linear deceleration cannot see it.

ECE 22.06 adds an oblique test: the helmet strikes an angled abrasive surface and the protocol records rotational as well as linear acceleration. That single addition is the strongest reason to prefer a 22.06 helmet, and it is also what makes the comparison with Snell interesting rather than simple. Snell M2025 asks more of a shell on raw impact energy and includes a penetration test; it does not run an oblique rotational test. So “which is stricter” and “which is more relevant to a road crash” can honestly have different answers — our Snell guide works through that in full.

It is worth separating this from MIPS, which riders often file in the same mental box. MIPS is a construction feature — a low-friction layer inside the helmet designed to let the shell move relative to the head. ECE 22.06 is a test. A helmet can hold 22.06 with no MIPS (the AGV K6-S) or have MIPS with no ECE approval at all (the Bell Qualifier DLX). Neither implies the other.

The underrated changes

More impact points, some of them chosen by the tester. Under 22.05 a manufacturer knew exactly where the helmet would be struck. 22.06 widens the set and lets the test house pick positions, which removes the possibility of a shell optimized for known contact points.

Multiple impact speeds, including a low-speed test. A shell tuned only for a single high-energy hit can be stiffer than ideal for the lower-energy impacts that are statistically more common on the road. Testing at more than one speed pushes against that.

Visors and accessories in scope.This is the quiet one with real consequences. Under 22.06 the visor, the drop-down sun visor and fitted accessories form part of the helmet’s approval rather than being separate items bolted on afterwards. A manufacturer can no longer get a helmet approved and then sell hardware for it that was never in the assessment — which is why makers that design comms into the shell, like Shoei with its SRL channel, have an easier time with the current regulation than one clamping a third-party unit to the outside.

P and J homologation on modulars.22.06 makes the two positions explicit: P for protective (closed) and J for the open jaw position. A modular approved P/J may legally be ridden with the chin bar up. One approved P only may not. This is genuinely useful information that was muddled before — our guide on modular helmet safety and our modular ranking both turn on it.

So what is a 22.05 sticker worth now?

It is a genuine type approval from a protocol that is one generation behind. Three practical readings:

Buying new, and both helmets fit you? Take the 22.06 one. It has cleared tests the other has not. That really is the whole argument.

Buying a discounted 22.05 helmet knowingly? A defensible choice, and the clearest live example in our registry is the HJC RPHA 11 Pro: HJC’s US page states DOT and ECE 22.05, the helmet is the outgoing generation, HJC’s replacement RPHA 12 moves to 22.06, and the price gap is the whole value case. We have the full RPHA 11 Pro against the Shoei RF-1400 if that is the decision in front of you. Buy it deliberately rather than by accident.

Already own a 22.05 helmet?Keep wearing it if it fits and is inside its service life. The thing that should make you replace a helmet is age, damage or a bad fit, not a regulation revision — see when to replace a helmet and how to check a helmet’s age.

A US-specific warning

If you are shopping in the United States, ECE is a voluntary extra on top of DOT, not the operative legal standard. The consequence is that the European phase-out timetable for 22.05 does not govern what sits on a US shelf, and you will find 22.05 helmets, 22.06 helmets and DOT-only helmets side by side at similar prices.

So read the label rather than assuming the market has sorted it for you. The pattern that catches people out is the one we keep finding in our own registry: several premium helmets sold in the US state DOT alone, while the budget LS2 Stream II publishes DOT and ECE 22.06. Price is not a proxy for certification here — our guide on whether cheap helmets are safe is built around exactly that finding.

And one limit on all of this, stated plainly: an approval tells you a helmet passed a protocol. It does not rank helmets against each other. Nobody publishes comparative impact results for US-market helmets — SHARP is the only public body that star-rates helmets at all and it tests a different catalog. Which is why our safest helmets page ranks the most thoroughly certified helmets and says so, rather than claiming to know which is most protective.

Three helmets in our registry that publish ECE 22.06

One at each price level, all three stating the current approval on the maker or US retailer page named on the card, on the date shown. Prices are pulled live and carry the date they were checked. Read the change list above first — the point of this page is that you should know what the number means before you shop for it.

#1Lightest 22.06 full-face hereOur score9.1

AGV K6 S

A carbon-aramid shell at roughly 1,255 g makes the K6 S one of the lightest DOT-and-ECE-22.06 full-faces you can buy, with a genuinely wide 190-degree eye port. If you notice helmet weight on a long day, this is the short list.

Strengths

  • Carbon-aramid shell — AGV's published 1,255 g is class-leadingly light for the segment
  • Certified to ECE 22.06, the newest standard with rotational and multi-point impact testing
  • Ultravision visor gives a 190-degree horizontal field of view and ships Pinlock-ready

Trade-offs

  • No internal sun visor — a tinted shield is a separate purchase
  • Sport-leaning fit and shell shape suit an intermediate-oval head best
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.06
Weight1255 g
ShellCarbon-aramid fiber
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorNo
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. 190-degree Ultravision visor (Optical Class 1); 5-density EPS; ARK comms-ready

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2The 22.06 touring modularOur score9.2

Shoei Neotec 3

The touring modular the class is measured against. DOT and ECE 22.06, an AIM composite shell, a bigger QSV-2 sun visor and a Defogger-equipped shield — plus the cleanest integration for Shoei's own comms system. It is expensive and worth understanding why.

Strengths

  • DOT and ECE 22.06 in a composite AIM shell — not the polycarbonate most modulars use
  • QSV-2 internal sun visor is larger than the old QSV-1, and the CNS-3C shield is Pinlock-ready with a defogger
  • Purpose-built channel for the SRL3/COMLINK comms unit — no bulky external clamp

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive modular we cover — flagship money for a flip-up
  • Comms unit is a separate, Shoei-specific purchase
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.06
Weight1700 g
ShellAIM composite
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-2XL
Internal sun visorYes
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. QSV-2 sun visor; CNS-3C Pinlock shield with defogger; SRL3/COMLINK-ready

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#322.06 on a budgetOur score8.2

LS2 Stream II

The value pick that punches above its ~$150 price: DOT and ECE 22.06 certification, a built-in drop-down sun visor, and LS2's AREM rotational-energy management — features usually reserved for helmets costing twice as much.

Strengths

  • ECE 22.06 certified at a budget price — the newest standard, rarely found this cheap
  • Built-in drop-down sun shield, which most premium full-faces here don't have
  • Pinlock-ready face shield and a rear spoiler with flow-through ventilation

Trade-offs

  • Kinetic Polymer Alloy shell is heavier and less premium than a composite lid
  • Fit and finish are good for the price, not flagship-grade
CertificationsDOT, ECE 22.06
Weight1550 g
ShellKinetic Polymer Alloy (KPA)
Head shapeIntermediate oval
SizesXS-3XL
Internal sun visorYes
Pinlock-readyYes

Notable. AREM rotational-energy management; drop-down sun visor; Pinlock-ready shield

Specs read from the manufacturer / retailer listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between ECE 22.06 and 22.05?

ECE 22.06 is the current revision of the European helmet regulation and 22.05 is the one it replaced after roughly two decades. The headline additions are oblique impact testing that measures rotational acceleration, a wider and partly randomised set of impact points on the shell rather than a fixed list, impact testing at more than one speed, and bringing visors, sun visors and accessories into the approval of the helmet rather than treating them separately. Modular helmets also get explicit P and J homologation for the closed and open positions.

Is ECE 22.05 still safe?

A 22.05 helmet is a type-approved helmet that passed a real test, and it is not an unsafe helmet. It is also a helmet that was never tested against the things 22.06 added - most importantly the oblique rotational impacts. If you are choosing between two otherwise comparable helmets, the 22.06 one has cleared tests the 22.05 one has not, and that is a reasonable basis for a decision. If you already own a 22.05 helmet that fits you properly and is within its service life, there is no reason to throw it away.

Can you still buy ECE 22.05 helmets?

You will still see them, particularly in the US market where ECE is a voluntary extra on top of DOT rather than the operative standard. The HJC RPHA 11 Pro in our registry is a current example: HJC's US page states DOT and ECE 22.05, and HJC's replacement model, the RPHA 12, moves to 22.06. In Europe the regulation phased 22.05 out of new type approvals and then out of new sales, but a US-market helmet is not governed by that timetable - which is exactly why you should read the label rather than assume.

Is ECE 22.06 better than Snell M2025?

They are demanding in different directions, which is why the best helmets carry both. Snell pushes harder on raw impact energy and includes a penetration test ECE does not. ECE 22.06 tests oblique rotational impacts, which Snell does not, and brings the visor and accessories into scope. If you ride on the road, the rotational testing in 22.06 is arguably the more relevant of the two; if your track organizer's tech rules name a current Snell homologation, that is the one you need. The Shoei X-Fifteen in our registry carries DOT, ECE 22.06 and Snell M2025R together.

Does ECE 22.06 test rotational impact?

It tests oblique impacts, which is how rotational acceleration gets measured: the helmet strikes an angled abrasive surface rather than only a flat anvil, and the test records rotational as well as linear acceleration. That is the headline change over 22.05 and the reason a 22.06 approval is worth seeking out. It is a different approach from MIPS, which is a construction feature inside the helmet rather than a test - our MIPS guide covers that distinction.

What do P and J mean on an ECE 22.06 label?

They describe which positions a helmet is approved to be ridden in. P is the protective closed position and J is the open jaw position. A modular approved P/J may be ridden with the chin bar up as well as down; one approved P only is approved closed. It matters because riding a P-only modular with the chin bar raised puts you outside the approval. Our guide on modular helmet safety works through what the marking does and does not promise.

Is a 22.06 approval the same thing as a SHARP rating?

No, and the two get confused constantly. An ECE approval is pass or fail against a defined protocol - a helmet either has it or does not. SHARP is a separate UK government program that buys helmets and awards one to five stars, so it ranks helmets against each other rather than certifying them. A helmet can hold ECE 22.06 and a low SHARP score, or no SHARP rating at all because SHARP has not tested it. Our SHARP guide explains both its value and its limits.

Sources

Keep reading